Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

[CPAP] HDM Z1 CPAP problems
#1
I just received an HDM Z1 CPAP from [commercial DME link to Supplier #1 removed] and purchased an optional MicroSD card so I can record my sleep data. When I inserted the card into the slot it jammed and will not come out, giving me a FAULT 22 error. I was able to clear the error, but cannot remove the card. I was told this is a common problem with the Z1.

I also downloaded the HDM Data Viewer to sync the Z1 with my laptop, but when connected to the laptop I cannot sync any data. The green bar goes to about 95% and stops. The only way to clear it is to disconnect it from the laptop and start over. Even when the Z1 is connected by the USB cable, the HDM Data Viewer "Settings" page says that the unit is "Not Connected" and all of the the device information shows as "False." So I can't read the serial number, firmware number, or device settings.

Has anyone else experienced these issues with the Z1? Are these problems caused by the jammed MicroSD card?

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks.

-----
Moderator Action: Link Removed
To maintain our status as an educational organization, the only commercial links allowed in this forum are to CPAP-related manufacturer websites. This is stated in the Apnea Board Rules with details given in the Commercial Links Policy section.
-----

Post Reply Post Reply
#2
The Z1 will hold a considerable amount of data onboard the unit itself, something like a years worth of data without the SD card. The SD card option was there so you could send the card off to DME or sleep doctor, but if you don't need to do that there is plenty of data storage on the machine itself. I have heard some issues with the machine that were caused by people inserting the micro SD card that were corrected when the SD card was removed, so I have never put an SD card in mine because there is no need to do it.

If you can get the micro SD card out of your Z1 somehow that would be the thing to do and then don't bother with one if you can get it out.

As far as what you're describing with the data software on the PC, I have occasionally had the same issue when I hook mine up to the USB on the computer. In my case it was due to the PC not recognizing that the Z1 was connected. So I just disconnected and reconnected with the Z1 powered up with the AC power cord until the PC finally registered the USB connection and then of course the software could then see the Z1. So just fiddle with your USB connection, and be sure you are also using the AC power cord so that the Z1 is powered up in the standby mode, without power to the Z1 it won't work.

As a side note to the PC software, it pretty much sucks rocks........at this point in time it will only give you hours of use and leak information, but no AHI information. They say at some point that the software will be upgraded to show AHI info, but they have been saying that for about a year now. Seems like HDM really doesn't care much about that project, and the same goes with developing the Android version for their Auto machine, currently they only have an iOS version for the Auto Z1 that only works with Apple. HDM makes a lot of promises that never materialize -- it's pretty disappointing customer service and follow through from a company with such an expensive product, it's kind of amazing they are still in business!
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Good to know, I was considering buying one (Z1 Auto) for a travel unit. May consider a Transcend instead. I liked the smallness of the Z1 Auto.
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Many thanks for the informative and detailed reply! I didn't realize the Z1 had internal storage and didn't need the card to keep track of the data. I'll have to try and get the computer to read the info from the machine by fiddling with the USB connection as you suggest. I tried it several times but it just doesn't seem to want to sync or to show it is connected. I might try downloading the HDM Data Viewer on another laptop to see what happens.

Thanks again!
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Hi n4wwl,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Sorry to hear you are having problems with your Z1.
Hang in there for more responses to your post.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
(06-06-2015, 12:34 PM)DocWils Wrote: Good to know, I was considering buying one (Z1 Auto) for a travel unit. May consider a Transcend instead. I liked the smallness of the Z1 Auto.

I liked the idea of the smallness of the Z-1 too. But I decided to put mine on the used market and instead go with a NIB S-8 Autoset II for travel purposes.

OMMOHY
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
(06-06-2015, 12:46 PM)n4wwl Wrote: Many thanks for the informative and detailed reply! I didn't realize the Z1 had internal storage and didn't need the card to keep track of the data. I'll have to try and get the computer to read the info from the machine by fiddling with the USB connection as you suggest. I tried it several times but it just doesn't seem to want to sync or to show it is connected. I might try downloading the HDM Data Viewer on another laptop to see what happens.

Thanks again!

Well, I tried several computers and all with the same result. The HDM Data Viewer just won't sync with the unit or read any data. I'm hoping that's because of the jammed microSD card, even if the unit has internal storage. [commercial DME link removed, please refer to Supplier #1] has suggested they can ship me a replacement unit, so if that happens I'll try the HDM software again with the new Z1 and see if I have better luck.




-----
Moderator Action: Link Removed
To maintain our status as an educational organization, the only commercial links allowed in this forum are to CPAP-related manufacturer websites. This is stated in the Apnea Board Rules with details given in the Commercial Links Policy section.
-----
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
(06-07-2015, 07:22 PM)n4wwl Wrote:
(06-06-2015, 12:46 PM)n4wwl Wrote: Many thanks for the informative and detailed reply! I didn't realize the Z1 had internal storage and didn't need the card to keep track of the data. I'll have to try and get the computer to read the info from the machine by fiddling with the USB connection as you suggest. I tried it several times but it just doesn't seem to want to sync or to show it is connected. I might try downloading the HDM Data Viewer on another laptop to see what happens.

Thanks again!

Well, I tried several computers and all with the same result. The HDM Data Viewer just won't sync with the unit or read any data. I'm hoping that's because of the jammed microSD card, even if the unit has internal storage. XXXX.com has suggested they can ship me a replacement unit, so if that happens I'll try the HDM software again with the new Z1 and see if I have better luck.

David, the moderators will zap that commercial link right out of your post.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
(06-07-2015, 07:30 PM)justMongo Wrote:
(06-07-2015, 07:22 PM)n4wwl Wrote:
(06-06-2015, 12:46 PM)n4wwl Wrote: Many thanks for the informative and detailed reply! I didn't realize the Z1 had internal storage and didn't need the card to keep track of the data. I'll have to try and get the computer to read the info from the machine by fiddling with the USB connection as you suggest. I tried it several times but it just doesn't seem to want to sync or to show it is connected. I might try downloading the HDM Data Viewer on another laptop to see what happens.

Thanks again!

Well, I tried several computers and all with the same result. The HDM Data Viewer just won't sync with the unit or read any data. I'm hoping that's because of the jammed microSD card, even if the unit has internal storage. XXXX.com has suggested they can ship me a replacement unit, so if that happens I'll try the HDM software again with the new Z1 and see if I have better luck.

David, the moderators will zap that commercial link right out of your post.

Oops. My mistake. Appreciate the warning. Lesson learned.
Post Reply Post Reply




Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Question Dry Mouth problems Anthonyscic 12 285 3 hours ago
Last Post: Anthonyscic
  New guy with old problems sleeping Hardcorediver44 6 192 05-17-2017, 04:20 PM
Last Post: stanleydean
Surprised High Pressure Causing Problems - please explain leak data Zandor435 1 133 05-13-2017, 07:52 AM
Last Post: OpalRose
  [Equipment] DreamStation Problems Clark 4 373 05-02-2017, 12:38 AM
Last Post: jtravel
  Problems with CPAP & Mask ezymel 4 178 04-26-2017, 08:00 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  Problems with Resmed Autosense 10 lbperry 16 783 04-13-2017, 04:02 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Vertigo/CPAP Pressure Update- CPAP causing inner ear problems SuperSleeper 72 69,908 04-11-2017, 10:48 AM
Last Post: Newbee2016

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.