Post Reply 
[CPAP] Have you changed from the S9 auto set to the AS 10 auto set ?
Author Message
Doctor Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: S9
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage FX
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Question Have you changed from the S9 auto set to the AS 10 auto set ?
Hi everyone. I've been completely satisfied with the S9 auto set for about six years. Excellent sleep reports. I can get a new CPAP and my insurance company + company benefits will pay 100% for any machine.

Has anyone here used the S9 auto set and then changed to the AirSense 10 auto set ?

If so, please describe if and how it changed your sleep, what you like about it and don't like about it.

The few reviews of the AS 10 are mixed. I don't use humification and don't need wireless.

Thanks.

Doctor as in Ph.D.
(This post was last modified: 10-12-2015 10:44 PM by Doctor.)
10-12-2015 10:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Mosquitobait Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 746
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Resmed AirSense 10 For Her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: integrated, Climate line tube
CPAP Pressure: 9-12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: RLS and Bradycardia

Sex: Female
Location: Minneapolis

Post: #2
RE: Have you changed from the S9 auto set to the AS 10 auto set ?
I had an S9 briefly (bought used, but had some problems with it and returned it). The only reason for getting the AS10 is because my main problem was RERAs and the S9 does not track them. Otherwise, if you like the S9, no reason why you can't stick with it. It is now out of production, but word is that parts will continue to be available for 7 years. I want a used S9 as a backup unit.

What do I like about the Autoset? My cat can't step on the controls and shut it off. I was very puzzled by my Sleepyhead information until I figured out that she was stepping on the on/off button at night. If you don't use humidification, the unit is super small for travel, which is why I want it as a backup unit. The algorithm is pretty much the same as the S9 UNLESS you get the Autoset for Her. That unit has 3 settings and tracks RERAs.

So, I would say stick with what you have and get a new S9. The technology hasn't advanced from the S9 other than the For Her setting and since you are getting good sleep, no need to change that.
(This post was last modified: 10-13-2015 01:38 AM by Mosquitobait.)
10-13-2015 01:35 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Doctor Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: S9
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage FX
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #3
RE: Have you changed from the S9 auto set to the AS 10 auto set ?
(10-13-2015 01:35 AM)Mosquitobait Wrote:  I had an S9 briefly (bought used, but had some problems with it and returned it). The only reason for getting the AS10 is because my main problem was RERAs and the S9 does not track them. Otherwise, if you like the S9, no reason why you can't stick with it. It is now out of production, but word is that parts will continue to be available for 7 years. I want a used S9 as a backup unit.

What do I like about the Autoset? My cat can't step on the controls and shut it off. I was very puzzled by my Sleepyhead information until I figured out that she was stepping on the on/off button at night. If you don't use humidification, the unit is super small for travel, which is why I want it as a backup unit. The algorithm is pretty much the same as the S9 UNLESS you get the Autoset for Her. That unit has 3 settings and tracks RERAs.

So, I would say stick with what you have and get a new S9. The technology hasn't advanced from the S9 other than the For Her setting and since you are getting good sleep, no need to change that.

Thank you very much. Why did ResMed make a new machine with little or no improvements?

The S9 may not detect RERAs, but it does treat them, correct?

This paragraph from another website seems not accurate, as 2 of the 3 features are also found on the S9:

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The AirSense™ is a later model than the S9, so as a matter of course it will also incorporate features in addition to the ones already mentioned:

• AutoRamp: The AirSense™ series adds to the ResMed arsenal the AutoRamp feature, which provides patients with low pressure to fall asleep. AutoRamp also incorporates sleep onset detection, which senses and automatically adjusts to sleep once achieved, and then ramps up pressure during sleep.

• SmartStart: Always achieving innovation in their products, ResMed also added the SmartStart function to make starting therapy easier. Patients simply breathe in and their treatment starts automatically!

• EPR: Finally, AirSense™ adds expository pressure relief (EPR) to relieve pressure during each of the 3 critical phases of breathing:
From exhale to inhale
From inhale to exhale
After exhalation
(This post was last modified: 10-13-2015 02:16 AM by Doctor.)
10-13-2015 02:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #4
RE: Have you changed from the S9 auto set to the AS 10 auto set ?
(10-13-2015 02:09 AM)Doctor Wrote:  The S9 may not detect RERAs, but it does treat them, correct?
That is good assumption, because if machine report RERA, cannot be treating it Thinking-about

RERA detection require ECG but both Respironcis and Resmed say their machines can detect RERA. I suppose we can take their word for it, but they don't say, what to do about them or what is an acceptable number
IMO, get AHI as low as possible, find a comfortable mask, and get some decent refreshing sleep

All the that AirSesne stuff is for marketing purposes, probably right now on, they're working the next machine
10-13-2015 05:39 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,436
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #5
RE: Have you changed from the S9 auto set to the AS 10 auto set ?
Hi Doctor,

WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post and much success to you as you continue your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
10-13-2015 08:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Mosquitobait Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 746
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Resmed AirSense 10 For Her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: integrated, Climate line tube
CPAP Pressure: 9-12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: RLS and Bradycardia

Sex: Female
Location: Minneapolis

Post: #6
RE: Have you changed from the S9 auto set to the AS 10 auto set ?
Yes, it does treat RERAs. I could see the difference when I tried a lower straight pressure, lots of RERAs showed up. They don't show up when set to auto. Respironics 60 auto also detects RERAs, but didn't seem to treat as well. However, it could simply be that I'm one of those rare birds who don't do as well with the Respironics algorithm.

The ramping feature is supposed to be improved, but since I mostly don't use the ramp, I don't know.

I personally think the humidity chamber is a lot easier to fill and clean than the one in the S9. I have vision and arthritis issues, so your experience may vary. I can buy a slat that fits over the chamber slot and leave the humidifier at home when I travel as well. So, in that way, it is as convenient to travel with as the S9. Fits well in your suitcase. However, you didn't use humidifier in the first place. So, in my opinion, the humidity chamber and the addition of RERA detection are the main changes. The For Her model adds an additional algorithm that is based on how women breathe, but since you are already doing great, no need to change that.
(This post was last modified: 10-13-2015 12:41 PM by Mosquitobait.)
10-13-2015 12:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,849
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #7
RE: Have you changed from the S9 auto set to the AS 10 auto set ?
I only upgraded from an S8 to an S9 in 2014. At first the one thing I didn't like about the S9 was having the hose fitting on the back of the humidifier. Simple solution, I turned the machine around! I really like the tank setup on the S9. If you've had an S8, you'll know why the S9 tank is way better.

I'm not crazy about how they integrated the humidifier on the 10 series. Nor do I think the 10 series tank is an improvement. I'll stick with my S9 at least 3 more years.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
10-13-2015 01:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Doctor Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 22
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: S9
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage FX
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 11
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #8
RE: Have you changed from the S9 auto set to the AS 10 auto set ?
(10-13-2015 12:33 PM)Mosquitobait Wrote:  Yes, it does treat RERAs. I could see the difference when I tried a lower straight pressure, lots of RERAs showed up. They don't show up when set to auto. Respironics 60 auto also detects RERAs, but didn't seem to treat as well. However, it could simply be that I'm one of those rare birds who don't do as well with the Respironics algorithm.

The ramping feature is supposed to be improved, but since I mostly don't use the ramp, I don't know.

I personally think the humidity chamber is a lot easier to fill and clean than the one in the S9. I have vision and arthritis issues, so your experience may vary. I can buy a slat that fits over the chamber slot and leave the humidifier at home when I travel as well. So, in that way, it is as convenient to travel with as the S9. Fits well in your suitcase. However, you didn't use humidifier in the first place. So, in my opinion, the humidity chamber and the addition of RERA detection are the main changes. The For Her model adds an additional algorithm that is based on how women breathe, but since you are already doing great, no need to change that.


Thank you. Does the S9 treat RERAs ? Don't care if they are not reported, but they might be worth treating. I use EPR of 3, but no ramping. Don't ever use water, but need the humidification chamber for ClimateLine air heating during one or two months of Winter.

Heard that the early AS 10's had problems with noise, display, and humidification, but those issues have been resolved.
10-13-2015 02:06 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #9
RE: Have you changed from the S9 auto set to the AS 10 auto set ?
(10-13-2015 12:33 PM)Mosquitobait Wrote:  Yes, it does treat RERAs. I could see the difference when I tried a lower straight pressure, lots of RERAs showed up. They don't show up when set to auto.
at what lower straight pressure and what is the current 95th percentile and maximum pressures?
10-13-2015 03:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #10
RE: Have you changed from the S9 auto set to the AS 10 auto set ?
(10-12-2015 10:38 PM)Doctor Wrote:  Has anyone here used the S9 auto set and then changed to the AirSense 10 auto set ?
I've used S9 AutoSet when first diagnosed in 2010, late last year started on A10 AutoSet
(regular version and one the first models doesn't report RERAs)

There is no point listing all the options and features of both machines, the clinical manual explain all of that and available via email, the link to "CPAP Setup Manuals" is at the top of the page

A10 does not work without the water chamber in place but you can get $20 side cover replaces the water chamber and goes in the same hole as the water chamber

If you're on straight pressure 11, then both machines are identical, they blow 11 all night long, except Ramp period

I've always used S9 Autoset on auto 9-15, 95th percentile around 11. when used A10 at the same settings, pressure always increased to the top and stayed there for most of the night. The A10 auto algorthim didn't suit me, but might works differently for someone else ... everyone is different. Now I'm using the machine at constant 12, Ramp start at 10 for 10 minutes. No difference in AHI (most of the time below 1 and lower)
10-13-2015 04:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [CPAP] Z1 Auto Question BillNYC 1 60 Yesterday 11:01 PM
Last Post: bill-e
  2015 peer reviewed article on how xPAPs score events and auto algorithms respond robysue 1 118 12-03-2016 07:48 PM
Last Post: Perchas
  philips remstar auto a-flex skylersdad 2 163 11-29-2016 05:47 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  PR System One: C-Check vs Auto? Ailu 8 2,997 11-29-2016 02:04 PM
Last Post: TonyJ
  Auto ramp: Do you use, why or why not. Rcgop 18 669 11-29-2016 08:23 AM
Last Post: 0rangebear
  [Equipment] Dreamstation auto off ??? johno02 15 750 11-27-2016 01:56 PM
Last Post: johno02
  [CPAP] S9 Auto Mr.K 2 165 11-23-2016 02:21 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)