Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Help needed to update settings
Help needed to update settings
Hi all,

I have been using a Resmed S9 for about 11 years, sometimes with high AHI and sometimes low. I can't figure out why and to be honest, a couple of different doctors have been unable to as well.

After an overnight sleep study a few years back I was told as my readings were borderline I had a choice of using my Resmed S9 or not, due to the hassles I chose not.

A recent stint in hospital showed very high AHI readings, but once out of hospital the AHI started to come down. My doctor said a high reading every few days is OK.

I have a beard and am using a Resmed Airfit N30I nasal mask, after trying several masks this is the best. My beard is not very full, but does appear to cause excessive leaks with most masks. 

I do have troubles with a dry mouth, it appears I am a mouth breather. I have tried a chin strap, it helps a bit but I still wake up with a dry mouth in the middle of the night.

I wake up feeeling tired in the morning, but that feeling often goes durnig the day. In my country, Austalia, once I turn 75 in a few years time I have to get re-certified as a driver, and part of that process is ensuring the sleep apnea is under control, so I need to try and sort this out soon.  

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Help needed to update settings
Since most of your events are CA in nature, I would try setting the minimum and maximum pressure to 7 cm.  This may not be a cure all with the CPAP model you have, but it may reduce any pressure induced events.  It shouldn't take long to see if this is producing any positive results.

Also, you say this comes and goes. Are you taking any medications when these occur?