Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Help understand what caused suffocation feeling
Help understand what caused suffocation feeling
Hi,
I have been using CPAP for over 2 years without issue.
Last month there were two nights where I woke up feeling like I couldn't get enough air (Oscar_maskOff and Oscan_maskOff2), so much so that I removed the nasal pillows as seen by the blank spaces. Note that I also use mouth tape. Historical data do not show similar long durations of high flow/tidal volume/ minute vent.
I then replaced the hose, headgear and air filter.
I was fine for a week or so but recently had another similar episode (Oscan_afterChangeOut), I tried to calm myself enough to not have to take off the mask but it was still very uncomfortable.
Does anyone have any experience with this?
Thanks.

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Help understand what caused suffocation feeling
Each of us are different but for me my min has to be between 10 or 11 or I have that feeling and end up taking my mask off.

I would raise the min to 8 and see if that is enough.
Apnea (80-100%) 10 seconds, Hypopnea (50-80%) 10 seconds, Flow Limits (0-50%) not timed  Cervical Collar - Dealing w DME - Chart Organizing
Post Reply Post Reply
That looks like when my air filter plugged but you say you changed filter. Is room etc really dusty by chance (doing renovations or something) if so maybe try changing filter again.

Another thing that can cause this is a poorly venting mask. You mentioned switching headgear which should have helped if it was the particular mask that was the problem. Worth checking that the vents are clean and clear though.