Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] I don't feel any benefit from use of CPAP
I don't feel any benefit from use of CPAP
I am an 86 year old male that has tested twice which indicated that I have sleep apnea. I have no other health problems related to breathing. I have been using the CPAP machine with regularity for several years but find that I can go without it for 2 weeks and feel no different. Do others experience this or does one usually feel much better when one uses the CPAP machine?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: I don't feel any benefit from use of CPAP
Welcome to the board!  I personally can not sleep without the machine so naturally it is 100% better with it. 

Maybe there are some adjustments we could help you with. We use OSCAR for our data. It is totally free at the top of the site (free as everything is here). You need a computer to run it and a SD card to transfer the data from your Cpap. 

I hope you will give it a try, a lot of people have found much better therapy here.
Apnea (80-100%) 10 seconds, Hypopnea (50-80%) 10 seconds, Flow Limits (0-50%) not timed  Cervical Collar - Dealing w DME - Chart Organizing
Post Reply Post Reply
(11-26-2021, 03:46 PM)gordonharper Wrote: ... Do others experience this or does one usually feel much better when one uses the CPAP machine?

My only indicator of a problem of any kind with my health came at the end of a 10km run.  I suddenly felt the wind go, and my legs turned to stone.  I sat on the curb and then noticed that my heart was pounding.  Move forward three months through just about every test imaginable, and my cardiac guy said the only other test left to see why I had suddenly developed a heart arrhythmia was a polysomnography.  That one last test showed I had sleep apnea.  Severe. 

Who knew!?