Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Mask rubbing under my nose.....
Mask rubbing under my nose.....
Hello, I am new to the CPAP world, started wearing my mask about a week ago. I seem to have some issues with my nasal mask rubbing just under my nose, causing a blister/sore spot just under my nose between my nostrils. Is this common, or is my mask too small? Any remedies? Should I lower the mask, and have the bottom of it rest lower on my upper lip? Thanks!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Mask rubbing under my nose.....
Sounds like the straps might be too tight; or you may be correct about the size of the mask.

Did you try a couple of different sized masks before you got the one you are using? If the straps are comfortable, I'd go back to your supplier (DME/clinic/doc) and ask to try a different size or a different type of mask.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. 
ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA.
Post Reply Post Reply
Welcome to the forum CPAPdude,

I can not say much about your mask, since I do not know what make and model it is. Generally, for a nasal mask the bottom cushion should rest between your nose and your upper lip. Applying lanolin to the area before putting the mask on may help. It is not uncommon to have some irritation from the mask although sizing might make a difference. Was your mask fitted by a respiratory therapist? Do you clean your mask cushions regularly and do you wash the skin on your face before putting the mask on to remove the skin oils? This is recommended.

Best Regards,

PaytonA

Admin Note:
PaytonA passed away in September 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~