Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] New forum member introduction and questions
New forum member introduction and questions
Hello, and thank you, in advance,

I am a new member of the forum. (I wish that i had found this forum many years ago. I've spent the last few days reading many forum threads, and I've learned more about SA and PAP treatment than I've learned in 20 years of treatment by physicians. Thank you, everyone, for this forum.)

I'm 60 year old male, athletic with no underlying health problems, who has sleep apnea. I've been using CPAP and APAP machines for about 20 years. At this point, i am very frustrated with the treatment I have received from the medicos, and I'm upset with myself for not having taken more responsibility myself for my therapy.

(rant) Over those years, I've been a patient of three physicians. I've done 4 PSG's indicating that I have serious SA, with inconclusive titration measurements. Ive been prescribed and have purchased four PAP machines, the last two were a Resmed S9 Escape Auto and a Philips Respironics DreamStation Auto. (I acquired them via health insurance and prescribed DME's, and I paid about 2x the price of the machines to DME's in co-pay's...) The last two physicians said that using the auto machines would allow them to obtain the information they needed to determine the correct titration and monitor my therapy. And I've taken the SD cards from the machines to each of my annual prescription physician appointments. And now I've discovered OSCAR, and I've discovered that neither of my machines records therapeutic information!?! And I didn't like the sleep doctors very much before I discovered this... (/rant)