Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] New to CPAP and figuring out how to begin while waiting for consult/tests
New to CPAP and figuring out how to begin while waiting for consult/tests
Hi all!

I have been waking up gasping for air for 3-5 years. Some nights it doesn't happen, some nights it's horrible, and recently I had my most terrifying episode of being keeled over on the bed trying to get my breathing back to normal for at least 3 minutes. Scared me so much that going to bed at night has been really difficult, as I am worried about it re-occurring.

A few years ago, I was given an at-home sleep study and the results were that I did not have sleep apnea or qualify for a CPAP. It was chalked up to anxiety and I took the appropriate measures to deal with my mental health. They said it was highly unlikely for being in my mid-30s, non smoker, not overweight, etc.

Now, after lab work showing my red blood cells are above normal (and ruling out blood disease), brain fog, and a consistent hypertension in the last few months, my doctor(s) are re-visiting the sleep apnea idea, especially after that latest episode (I'm now also on a 30 day heart monitor). I have a sleep doctor consult on the 19th, and then who knows when a test will be scheduled after that.

In the meantime, every day in between feels like wasted time of not taking action.

A family friend passed away years back and left me a ResMed S9 Autoset, from what I see on label. It is just the unit and the power cord. I am trying to figure out what else I need to use it until I am re-tested again or have more clarity.  Would it just be the mask and the tube from the mask to unit that I have to order online? Is heated tubing necessary or am I missing any other components besides those two things?