Post Reply 
[CPAP] No data on a Resmed S8
Author Message
Kozyair Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 2015

Machine: Resmed S8 Autoset Spirit
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit F10
Humidifier: Resmed S8
CPAP Pressure: 7-20
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
No data on a Resmed S8
I have bought a CPAP (Resmed S8 autoset) without a prescription based on the claim of my co-sleeper that I am experiencing extremely frequent sleep apnea. After more than a year of very consistent use of my machine I am still not rested when I wake up. I have tried a lot of different settings (various levels of fixed pressure / autoset mode) but my sarch is kind of blind because no data (IA etc) seem to be stored on my machine. I know how to access data in the clinic menu in but the message is always "no data".
Can somebody help ?
Thanks in advance.
11-02-2015 07:00 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OpalRose Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,181
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto 560 with A Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 For Her
Humidifier: REMStar heated humidifier with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto Cpap 10-13 AFLEX 1
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Started CPAP Therapy October 23, 2014

Sex: Female
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Post: #2
RE: No data on a Resmed S8
Welcome to the forum Kozyair,
The S8 is pretty old. I don't think it can give you any useful data. Does it give you an AHI reading?
Does it tell you what your average pressure is?

After a year of using this machine, and not feeling any better, it may be time to do this the right way. See a doctor, and at least get an overnight home study, which is cheaper.

You don't even know if you have sleep apnea, and worse, you could have complex apnea which would require a different machine.

OpalRose
11-02-2015 07:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
JudgeMental Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 324
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Respironics DreamStation Auto-CPAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Amara View
Humidifier: Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 11-14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Florida USA

Post: #3
RE: No data on a Resmed S8
Hello Kozyair and welcome to the board. By coming to this forum, you have opened the door to a wealth of experienced sleep apnea folks who will endeavor to assist you with your apnea struggles.
OpalRose has offered what I think, is the most important suggestion at the moment. Your admittance that you are still not rested in the mornings after a year of self imposed sleep therapy leads to the idea that something is not going the way it should. Perhaps a professionally administered sleep study is necessary. A (no data info) machine is sort of like driving a car without a speedometer. You know that you are getting SOME therapy but you don't know how much, and is it correct.

Yesterday is history; Tomorrow is a mystery; Today is a gift; Thats why its called "The Present".
11-02-2015 09:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #4
RE: No data on a Resmed S8
S8 AutoSet is full data capable machine display efficacy data ...
pressure, leak, AHI (apnea + hypopnea index), AI (apnea index), and HI (hypopnea index) data
In "results", you should see 'usage and efficacy data' as shown in this video (past 8 mins mark)
https://vimeo.com/19565675

Also the clinical manual available via Email http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual
11-02-2015 04:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,452
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #5
RE: No data on a Resmed S8
Hi Kozyair,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post and much success to you.

trish6hundred
11-02-2015 07:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Kozyair Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 2015

Machine: Resmed S8 Autoset Spirit
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit F10
Humidifier: Resmed S8
CPAP Pressure: 7-20
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #6
RE: No data on a Resmed S8
Thanks to all but my problem is not really addressed by your comments.
So, let's reformulate:
The Resmed S8 do have data recording capability.
I know how to access them.
The problem is that the display says "no data available".
11-03-2015 06:18 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #7
RE: No data on a Resmed S8
(11-03-2015 06:18 AM)Kozyair Wrote:  Thanks to all but my problem is not really addressed by your comments.
So, let's reformulate:
The Resmed S8 do have data recording capability.
I know how to access them.
The problem is that the display says "no data available".
I have no idea (sorry about that) and the clinical manual trouble shooting section does not gives us any clues either
Those things might don't helps but no harm in trying ... unplug the machine, wait a while and plug it back
If still showing no data, erase the data stored on the machine (except run hours)

The other thing, you can contact one of the CPAP repairers (#27 and #28) on the Suppliers List
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-CPAP-Supplier-List

Down the track, if needed a new machine, Supplier #2 is good source for new and used machines and ship overseas if you're not in US
Here is a guide may helps choosing the right machine http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php?title=Machine_choices
11-03-2015 03:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
jonde Offline

Members

Posts: 14
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #8
RE: No data on a Resmed S8
I'm real new at this but does your machine need an SD card to report data and does it have the correct one?
11-03-2015 06:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #9
RE: No data on a Resmed S8
The S8 doesn't use SD card, it does use smart card
Beside the smart card, you'll also need the smart card reader, can be bit pricey and tricky to find but not impossible
11-03-2015 07:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
jonde Offline

Members

Posts: 14
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #10
RE: No data on a Resmed S8
Does it need the smart card to display data?
11-03-2015 09:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense - Is there data storage on the SD card AND in the unit itself? FormerFed 19 2,509 11-03-2016 03:17 PM
Last Post: PreciousRoy
  Resmed Airsense 10 CPAP data versus Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset data David P. 4 551 10-29-2016 08:42 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Sleepyhead data vs. Doctor's data Daisylouu 8 1,412 09-01-2016 06:10 PM
Last Post: eseedhouse
  invalid date/time. data exists for this period message on Resmed 9 autoset Marl1n 3 474 07-25-2016 09:03 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Data card to Resmed S8 Autoset Spirit II. kriper 1 450 05-23-2016 05:24 PM
Last Post: justMongo
  Revised Post Regarding "I need help with SH data" - with data included! Jeffo1 3 595 05-16-2016 11:28 PM
Last Post: Jeffo1
  Resmed A10 Autoset data in CPAP mode rem52 20 1,730 05-07-2016 09:32 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)