Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Palate defect problems
Palate defect problems
I am new to CPAP having used my ResMed S9 AutoSet in Continuous mode for 5 days. Humidity set to auto. Dr. wanted max pressure to be 10 but I could not old my mouth closed at that pressure. I have a defect in my palate that connects the mouth directly to the right nose airway. I use a nasal mask. I reduced pressure to max 8.0 and can manage but my mouth gets so dry that I wake up and have to rinse out with water every 2 hours. Anybody else coping with a similar problem? I am getting fitted for a full face mask in 2 weeks thinking that might help.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Palate defect problems
(10-26-2014, 02:27 PM)JBee Wrote: I am new to CPAP having used my ResMed S9 AutoSet in Continuous mode for 5 days. Humidity set to auto. Dr. wanted max pressure to be 10 but I could not old my mouth closed at that pressure. I have a defect in my palate that connects the mouth directly to the right nose airway. I use a nasal mask. I reduced pressure to max 8.0 and can manage but my mouth gets so dry that I wake up and have to rinse out with water every 2 hours. Anybody else coping with a similar problem? I am getting fitted for a full face mask in 2 weeks thinking that might help.
Welcome to the forum, JBee
With nasal masks, you need to keep mouth closed, mouth leaks can dry your mouth and compromise your therapy as therapy air escaping thru the mouth. Full face mask is one solution but I prefer to use chinstrap with my nasal mask, chinstrap helps keep mouth closed