Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Oldie but a newbie
Oldie but a newbie

Hi Everyone,

I'm just getting started here. I'm amazed by all the good information. Already I have downloaded and installed Sleepyhead and captured the first 10 days of my new "hosehead" life. It's pretty cool to see every breath broken down in such detail. I'll share this with my doc, who will no doubt be blown away.

I'm starting with a constant pressure setting and will likely take advantage of my device's APAP capability once my response to the therapy is better known. With your help I will have a VERY informed participatory role in my sleep therapy.

I've had apnea for years...decades. My wife told me that long ago. She had to waken me occasionally when I stopped breathing. That happened even when I was in top physical condition. I used to be a smoker which certainly didn't help, but only recently did my doc say that apnea is a likely contributing to heart attacks so he prescribed a machine. I am older now, and not in the very best of shape but at least the smoking habit is a distant memory.

The first night with a nasal mask I couldn't sleep at all....maybe drifted off for a few minutes at a time...but it felt like no sleep at all. I was so tired on the second night I'm sure I could have slept with a porcupine or a cactus on my face no problem. That got me over the hump and I have been able to sleep as a bona fide hosehead every since.

Guess what? I don't nod off at my desk after lunch any more! Maybe my project work is just more interesting....but no...I think I'm sleeping way better. The covers are much less rumpled in the morning and I'm feeling better rested....no doubt about it.