Post Reply 
[CPAP] Problem using ResMed S9 Autoset
Author Message
Mashunsnik Offline

New Members

Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2015

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quattro Air
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 11-14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Northern California

Post: #1
Problem using ResMed S9 Autoset
Apologies in advance for my ignorance; I'm new to C-PAPs.

I've used my S9 five successive evenings. On the fifth evening I felt I was getting too little air pressure. The device is set to min=11, max=14. The S9 readout this morning showed AHI=0.0--too good to be true and confirmation of my subjective sense that the S9 had not worked. The additional indexes displayed in a Sleepyhead report are also 0.0. I would love to receive suggestions concerning what I have done wrong, and how to make sure the problem does not occur again. Thank you!
02-08-2015 01:14 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
me50 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 2,559
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: resmed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp and Silicone Head gear
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18/8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #2
RE: Problem using ResMed S9 Autoset
I would suggest that you take a look at what the data shows in SH and if you want to you can post it in this thread so we could look at it I get 0 AHI from time to time. it doesn't mean that you did anything wrong or that there's something wrong with your machine it's possible that your pressure is too low to make you feel like you did but it would be better if we could see your graphs from your import of last night's sleep for us to be able to help you more also it would be helpful if you update your profile and include that you have sleepy head and any other information that you either didn't put in your profile or that has changed and welcome
(This post was last modified: 02-08-2015 02:03 AM by me50.)
02-08-2015 01:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
quiescence at last Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 753
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: REMstar System One with Autoflex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro AirFit F10
Humidifier: yes typical setting = 4
CPAP Pressure: 5-13 Autotritrating CPAP
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: CMS-50F Plus oximeter /w SPO2 Assistant software. Avowed mouth-breather switching to nose-breathing

Sex: Male
Location: US

Post: #3
RE: Problem using ResMed S9 Autoset
you may have indeed had an AHI of 0.0. what happened to make you think you should have had non-zero score? did you feel refreshed or not?

From Sleepyhead, find the data chart from last night - like this:
[Image: izvss1W.png]

what are the minimum, median, and the 95% pressure? how long did you sleep?

thanks.

QAL

Dedicated to QALity sleep.
You'll note I am listed as an Advisory Member. I am honored to be listed as such. See the fine print - Advisory Members as a group provide advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies. Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.
(This post was last modified: 02-08-2015 02:02 AM by quiescence at last.)
02-08-2015 02:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,163
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #4
RE: Problem using ResMed S9 Autoset
Welcome, you're cured. Congratulations. Rolleyes

Unplug the power cord to the S9 for a minute or so. Sometimes they will get stuck reporting 0, but it usually doesn't affect the SleepyHead data.

Why do you say the pressure is too low? After you use CPAP for a while, you will tend to not feel the pressure. Look on your SleepyHead report and see what the "Mask pressure" graph shows. I think the mask pressure reading is an actual measured pressure on the S9 machines, so if it quit blowing, it would probably show up there.

AHI of 0 is actually possible. Mine shows that on many nights.

Are you having any problems? How do you feel?

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
02-08-2015 03:24 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,452
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #5
RE: Problem using ResMed S9 Autoset
Hi Mashunsnik,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post and much success to you as you continue your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
02-08-2015 09:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #6
RE: Problem using ResMed S9 Autoset
(02-08-2015 01:14 AM)Mashunsnik Wrote:  The additional indexes displayed in a Sleepyhead report are also 0.0.

Yeah, it kinda does sound like you had a problem. Did you notice whether or not the power in the house was working?

--- just foolin' with you. Did you see any lights on the S9?

Unplug it and plug it back in as Arch suggested. That let's the machine reboot. Then turn it on without the mask being attached to your face. Is air coming out? Lots of air?

Check to make sure the plugs are firmly in place at the wall, at the machine, and at the power brick.

Is the machine set to do "autostart," or "smartstart" (whatever it's called). If so, maybe you never got the thing to kick over. I had a Ford like that once. So just fool with it until you verify its working. You'll know the difference.
02-08-2015 12:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Totally Confused by Airsense 10 Data - Centrals - Problem machine... ? mymontreal 25 1,202 Today 05:41 PM
Last Post: mymontreal
Surprised WISP mask problem elbie 12 756 Today 10:00 AM
Last Post: cbokay
  Cloggd Nose elling with ResMed Airsense 10 AutoSet edmund36 5 167 Yesterday 08:41 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Long time CPAP user now with a problem PrkChps 5 199 12-07-2016 09:07 PM
Last Post: PrkChps
  Problem with DreamWear Mask Judy1843 5 315 11-30-2016 04:03 AM
Last Post: holden4th
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,294 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  New User Problem with BiPAP AVAPS - Part 1 jmayer180 35 1,339 11-27-2016 09:50 AM
Last Post: jmayer180

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)