Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Racing heart beat and ringing in ears.
Racing heart beat and ringing in ears.
I hope someone can help me. I am fairly new to cpap and have struggled learning to use the machine and mask. It started off promising but went downhill. I have gotten the hang of the mask etc but For some unexplained reason I can only sleep an hour or an hour and a half. At that point I have sudden wake ups that include a racing heart and loud ringing in the ears. The mask is on tight and I’m doing fine right up to the wake up. The ringing can stay for a day or two before I get a break. 

If I’m lucky I’ll go back to sleep three or four times repeating some variation of this unpleasant cycle. I use Afrin sparingly or sometimes an antihistamine to keep my nose clear. I have a resmed air sense 11. Pressure 5-15. My apnea count is generally low or zero. It’s impossible to tell what causes the wake up but often I feel like I’m in dream state. I’m hoping someone has experienced this or know someone who has. 
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Racing heart beat and ringing in ears.
You need to do a few things, so we may help.
  1. You may have your mask too tight.  Please read the Wiki Mask Primer: http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...ask_Primer
  2. Download a copy of OSCAR for your computer type. The download link is in the name and in the black ribbon at the top of every page here.
  3. Make sure you have a good SD card, 2 GB to 256 GB in size.  The smaller sizes will provide a year or more of data.
  4. Read the Installation Wiki: http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...stallation
  5. Read the links in my signature to help you get going.