Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Rainout/dry mouth issues
Rainout/dry mouth issues
Hi all,

I am a CPAP newbie...I just started last week.  I've been able to tolerate the pressure all night for each night, but am having issues getting the temperature and humidity correct.  I have a ResMed Airsense 11 with Climateline tubing and the AirTouch F20 full mask.  The first two nights I did not change settings other than to turn off the ramp.  From the start I've had very dry mouth in the morning.  The auto settings I believe are temp 81 and humidity 4.  I have fiddled with the tube heat and humidity settings.  Humidity of 6 gets rid of the dry mouth but causes rainout, which wakes me up.  I tried setting the temperature of the tubing to 78 one night, and 82 the next, which did not help the rainout issue.  This morning the rainout was bad enough that I stopped the machine about 4:30 this morning.  After reading what other users have said, I have reset the tubing for max temperature, leaving the humidity setting at 6.  The temperature in my bedroom ranges from almost 80 at bedtime to around 75 in the morning.  I am going to get a tubing cover to see if that helps, and am going to reach out to my rep at the DME, as I think my mask may be too small.  

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what else I can try?

Thank you!

Dave
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Rainout/dry mouth issues
A big cause of dry mouth is 'open mouth'. It could be inhaling or exhaling. Look at your Oscar chart and check for Large Leaks. Dry mouth would always wake me up. Mine was from pressure pushing air into my lungs and that air coming right out of my mouth. For some people, it's a mask adjustment needed or a different mask -- for others, like me, I use tape to keep my mouth shut. Smile