Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F PH Care
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female

ResMed Air Sense 10 for her
I am brand new to this forum and have only been diagnosed with Sleep Apnea a month ago. I am using the ResMed Air Sense 10 for her machine. I am still learning how to use this machine and find that I am waking up after only 2-3 hours of use. When I wake up, my machine is off such as no air can be felt within the mask. Could somebody tell me why and how to fix this? Second, I find the mask extremely uncomfortable and I wake up with headaches. Is this normal? Thank you !

Susanne
Michigan
10-16-2015 02:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male

RE: ResMed Air Sense 10 for her
Welcome

Has the machine actually shut down after 2-3 hours of use? Like it would if you pressed the start/stop button?
It may be that auto start is set to "ON." It's possible that the machine "thinks" you removed the mask; and has done an auto shutdown.
It may think this if your leak rate is too high. There's also a slight possibility of a defective machine.

So, what to do. If on, turn off autostart. Second, make sure your leak rate isn't too high. I suggest you download the software (see link to sleepyhead at top of page.) Read your SD card with sleepyhead and check for high leak just before "shutdown."

The headaches are likley because the therapy isn't effective until you fix the other problems.

Please, if you can, find out what pressure you are set to; and what type of FFM you are using; and update your profile.