Post Reply 
[CPAP] ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto issues
Author Message
warmbear Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 25
Joined: Aug 2016

Machine: Respironics DreamStation Auto BiPAP
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Nuance
Humidifier: Respironics DreamStation Auto BiPAP
CPAP Pressure: Auto BiPAP 6-14 PS 3-6
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Pacific Northwest, USA

Post: #1
Angry ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto issues
Hello everyone:

I am a new member here, and I have a problem with my new ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto..

History: After a lot of grief (years and numerous attempts to get CPAP to work), It was decided that standard CPAP therapy would not work for me (fighting the machine to exhale), so we began the battle to get a BiLevel machine.. This finally happened a week ago.

The machine that I have been provided with is a ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto. The machine was setup according to the sleep apnea doctor's settings (10 IPAP and 6 EPAP- subject to change, and it looks like 10 is not sufficient). Every night, I have filled the humidifier, and put the machine on, only to wake up fighting the machine's pressure.

Last night when this happened, I started investigating.... Upon reflection, I realized that had never seen the machine drop down the the epap level.

Today I had my 1 week "check-up" with the sleep apnea people, and I expressed my concern to the "tech". The tech finally printed out the various ResMed print outs, and you could clearly see that the only pressures being recorded are for the IPAP. So, my Automatic "BiLevel" (BIPAP) machine is only functioning as a Automatic CPAP (Which is what we fought to replace). During all of this, the tech looked at me like a deer in my headlights, he obviously has no idea what I am talking about, and could not be bothered to find someone with more expertise to help sort this..

I just went into the "clinical settings" on the machine, and just looked around, and there are pressure settings in there for the IPAP and for the EPAP, and the machine is set to "Auto", but the machine is clearly not using the EPAP setting at all, only auto-regulating the IPAP pressures.

Anyone have any idea what is wrong with this machine? Is there a setting that is being missed somehow???


Frustrated in Washington State.
08-09-2016 08:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
icyura10 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 197
Joined: May 2016

Machine: RESMED AirCurve 10 VAUTO
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Phillips Respironiscs DreamWear under the nose nasal ma
Humidifier: INCLUDED
CPAP Pressure: IPAP (20); EPAP (12); PS (8)
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: I just dropped in to see what condition my condition was in!

Sex: Male
Location: I'm just a Galactic Traveler Traversing the Universe on a Blue Rock!

Post: #2
RE: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto issues
um.. can you install say SleepyHead or the ResScan software and collect the data and display it?

You'll need an SDcard reader to accomplish the import of the data into either of these software packages..

That way you can see all kinds of things that may quickly help diag what's going on..

I have the same machine, I'll look and see what my stuff shows then maybe you can compare

BTW...

What mode is your machine in?

CPAP
S
Vauto

?

I'm in "S" and it works the way I kind of expect it to.. but I'm not sure yet

Warning: Eating chocolate may cause your clothes to shrink!
[Image: ry6XtE9.gif] <---- That's ME!
(This post was last modified: 08-09-2016 09:37 PM by icyura10.)
08-09-2016 09:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,845
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #3
RE: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto issues
(08-09-2016 08:49 PM)warmbear Wrote:  I just went into the "clinical settings" on the machine, and just looked around, and there are pressure settings in there for the IPAP and for the EPAP, and the machine is set to "Auto", but the machine is clearly not using the EPAP setting at all, only auto-regulating the IPAP pressures.

In Auto mode, there should be 3 pressures to set: minEPAP, maxIPAP, and PS. The machine maintains the relationship IPAP - EPAP = PS.
Keeping that relationship, IPAP and EPAP are free to move within the constraints of minEPAP and maxIPAP.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
08-09-2016 09:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
warmbear Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 25
Joined: Aug 2016

Machine: Respironics DreamStation Auto BiPAP
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Nuance
Humidifier: Respironics DreamStation Auto BiPAP
CPAP Pressure: Auto BiPAP 6-14 PS 3-6
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Pacific Northwest, USA

Post: #4
RE: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto issues
Icyura10 .. Thanks. I will have to get some software installed, and see what we can find out.
08-09-2016 10:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #5
RE: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto issues
Hi warmbear,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
I wish you good luck in figuring out your machine problem.
Hang in there for more responses to your post.

trish6hundred
08-09-2016 10:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
warmbear Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 25
Joined: Aug 2016

Machine: Respironics DreamStation Auto BiPAP
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Nuance
Humidifier: Respironics DreamStation Auto BiPAP
CPAP Pressure: Auto BiPAP 6-14 PS 3-6
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Pacific Northwest, USA

Post: #6
RE: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto issues
justMongo - Thank you for the response... I know for a fact that the PS on the machine is presently set to 0.

I am completely unimpressed by the service(?) I am getting from my insurance approved sleep apnea supplier. It is a pretty sad state of affairs when I can look at a ResMed readout and figure out what is wrong, but the so-called "tech" cannot fathom this.

I am going to try setting the PS to 4 and see if it works tonight.
08-09-2016 10:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
icyura10 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 197
Joined: May 2016

Machine: RESMED AirCurve 10 VAUTO
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Phillips Respironiscs DreamWear under the nose nasal ma
Humidifier: INCLUDED
CPAP Pressure: IPAP (20); EPAP (12); PS (8)
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: I just dropped in to see what condition my condition was in!

Sex: Male
Location: I'm just a Galactic Traveler Traversing the Universe on a Blue Rock!

Post: #7
RE: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto issues
BTW, you might consider going to this these links:

CPAP Clinician Setup Manuals - Change your own CPAP Pressure

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...P-Pressure


ResScan 5.6 Software Download Link [for ResMed machines only]

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...hines-only

and requesting the appropriate manuals / software as they may assist you trying to sort out what's going on...

Warning: Eating chocolate may cause your clothes to shrink!
[Image: ry6XtE9.gif] <---- That's ME!
08-09-2016 11:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,845
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #8
RE: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto issues
If PS=0 then IPAP will equal EPAP; and range from minEPAP to maxIPAP.
It is behaving essentially like an Autoset with EPR=0.

If you set PS to 4 and if minEPAP=6 and maxIPAP=10, then it has no to room to work. It will behave like it's set to S mode. (fixed bilevel).

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
(This post was last modified: 08-09-2016 11:55 PM by justMongo.)
08-09-2016 11:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaytonA Online
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,006
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #9
RE: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto issues
The PS being set to 0 is probably the reason that you seem to be fighting to breathe out. The factory default setting for PS is 4 and that is what I use. I would leave the min EPAP at 6 and raise the max IPAP to 14. With the PS set to 4 that will give the machine room to adjust the pressures for you. If you leave the min EPAP set to 6 and the max IPAP set to 10 with a PS of 4 the machine will not be able to adjust the pressures at all. It would be the same as operating it in S mode with the EPAP set to 6 and the IPAP set to 10. You would have 6 and 10 all night long regardless of what is going on with your sleep.

Let us know how you do.

Best Regards,

PaytonA
(This post was last modified: 08-10-2016 12:00 AM by PaytonA.)
08-09-2016 11:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
warmbear Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 25
Joined: Aug 2016

Machine: Respironics DreamStation Auto BiPAP
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Nuance
Humidifier: Respironics DreamStation Auto BiPAP
CPAP Pressure: Auto BiPAP 6-14 PS 3-6
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Pacific Northwest, USA

Post: #10
Video RE: ResMed AirCurve 10 VAuto issues
PaytonA - Thanks.. I will get this figured out, if it kills me... I don't want the machine to emulate "S" (Fixed BiPAP). I fought to get an auto BiLevel machine, and would truly like it to operate in the auto mode correctly... Thanks
08-10-2016 12:12 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  One good night, now leak issues? sleepyguy99 8 343 12-03-2016 02:17 PM
Last Post: sleepyguy99
  [Pressure] Another New Player with Some Leak Issues Platypus 6 228 11-28-2016 06:17 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Not so new member having mask leak issues erikk 9 356 11-26-2016 02:15 PM
Last Post: erikk
Smile [How to] FIX RESMED S+ SLEEP MONITOR BLUETOOTH ISSUES srlevine1 3 320 10-31-2016 11:55 AM
Last Post: sswenson
  Blood sugar issues after treating apnea with BIPAP Gugliano 7 418 10-21-2016 01:59 PM
Last Post: southerndoc
Exclaimation [Equipment] Electromagnetic Field Issues Kaleun 8 479 10-17-2016 06:47 PM
Last Post: eseedhouse
  New to this. Airsense 10 & Sinus issues Caseous 6 447 10-17-2016 06:02 PM
Last Post: Sleeeppp

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)