Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Using CPAP for Over a Year and Still Experiencing Symptoms; Please Help!
Using CPAP for Over a Year and Still Experiencing Symptoms; Please Help!
Hello,

I am a 29 year old man. I have been using my ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet CPAP since July 2021. My sleep doctor has said my CPAP data looks great and that my sleep apnea is under control. However, I still feel extremely groggy in the morning and continue to experience symptoms of sleep apnea. I haven't had a transformative experience with CPAP therapy, unfortunately. It feels that little has changed. I asked for an in lab sleep study to check for any remaining issues, but my insurance denied it. I figured I'd ask here to see if there's anything illuminating in my CPAP data. I have included three days of OSCAR data below. Please let me know if you'd like any additional data.

Data

History

I was first diagnosed with severe sleep apnea at 18 with an AHI over 99. I believe I had sleep apnea far before being diagnosed. It took a while to get diagnosed because I was a thin teenager, despite having many classic symptoms.

I tried CPAP therapy in 2013 and failed it.

I had a tonsillectomy and adenoidectomy in January of 2014, because my tonsils were extremely large and obstructing my breathing at night. I was diagnosed with a deviated septum too, but I have not had that surgically corrected.

I was off CPAP therapy after the surgery. A follow up sleep study showed resolution of the apnea. However, my symptoms persisted.

I worked with a sleep doctor on the sleep issues after the surgery. I tried modafinil, which was of no help. Eventually, my doctor told me he couldn't help me anymore, so I gave up.