Post Reply 
[CPAP] ResMed S9 VPAP ST doesn't show AHI
Author Message
photocoach Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP ST
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: EPAP 8 IPAP 22
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: On CPAP machines since 1988. Have high AHI's.

Sex: Male
Location: East Bay, CA

Post: #1
ResMed S9 VPAP ST doesn't show AHI
Sometimes my S9 shows AHI and sometimes not. I have been changing settings to get down AHI #. Any that would turn off AHI report?
07-30-2014 03:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,452
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #2
RE: ResMed S9 VPAP ST doesn't show AHI
Hi photocoach,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
I don't know the answer to your question, but hang in there and someone will be along to help you soon.
Best of luck to you.

trish6hundred
07-30-2014 03:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
robysue Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 1,245
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: PR Dreamstation BiPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: PR Dreamstation humidfier
CPAP Pressure: min EPAP = 4; max IPAP = 9;
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic EncorePro

Other Comments: Papping since September 2010

Sex: Female
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post: #3
RE: ResMed S9 VPAP ST doesn't show AHI
If you are talking about showing the AHI information on the VPAP's screen, I believe the only setting of interest is Sleep Quality setting in the Clinician's set up menu. If Sleep Quality is set to ON, you should be able to see the AHI information. If Sleep Quality is set to USAGE in the clinical set up menu, you will only see the usage data when you go into the Sleep Quality report as a patient.

Questions about SleepyHead?
See my Guide to SleepyHead
07-30-2014 04:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
photocoach Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP ST
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: EPAP 8 IPAP 22
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: On CPAP machines since 1988. Have high AHI's.

Sex: Male
Location: East Bay, CA

Post: #4
RE: ResMed S9 VPAP ST doesn't show AHI
(07-30-2014 03:52 PM)trish6hundred Wrote:  Hi photocoach,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
I don't know the answer to your question, but hang in there and someone will be along to help you soon.
Best of luck to you.

THANKS. I appreciate the welcome and the time and effort folks take to be helpful with sites like this.

(07-30-2014 04:05 PM)robysue Wrote:  If you are talking about showing the AHI information on the VPAP's screen, I believe the only setting of interest is Sleep Quality setting in the Clinician's set up menu. If Sleep Quality is set to ON, you should be able to see the AHI information. If Sleep Quality is set to USAGE in the clinical set up menu, you will only see the usage data when you go into the Sleep Quality report as a patient.

I didn't know this and just checked my settings. Sleep Quality was on. Thanks for one more piece of useful information in the battle to master the machine.
(This post was last modified: 07-30-2014 04:23 PM by photocoach.)
07-30-2014 04:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #5
RE: ResMed S9 VPAP ST doesn't show AHI
(07-30-2014 03:35 PM)photocoach Wrote:  Sometimes my S9 shows AHI and sometimes not. I have been changing settings to get down AHI #. Any that would turn off AHI report?
At midday, the S9 start a new day and rest data to zero in the "Sleep Quality" info menu
you need to check the data before noon from this menu

You can check the data any time of the day from the "advanced info menu"
Press and hold both silver buttons for 3 sec, turn the push dial to "Sleep Report"
All explained in the clinical manual and setup videos
Clinical manual available via Email http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual
S9 setup video http://www.apneaboard.com/resmed-s9-cpap-setup

To find out more detailed info, you'll need to download the data into ResScan or SleepyHead
Here is the download links for both http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Private-Files-and-Links
07-30-2014 07:06 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,908
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #6
RE: ResMed S9 VPAP ST doesn't show AHI
(07-30-2014 03:35 PM)photocoach Wrote:  Sometimes my S9 shows AHI and sometimes not. I have been changing settings to get down AHI #. Any that would turn off AHI report?

Hi photocoach,

If all the other good suggestions don't help, try replacing the SD card.

Strange thing happened the last couple weeks when I checked my machine's data. On some nights the High Rate data (i.e., Flow data) was randomly missing from some nights. I normally disconnect power every day, so even long periods with power disconnected did not help.

Tried reformatting the SD card but that made no difference or made things worse. Replaced the SD card and all problems disappeared.

I suspect I may have inadvertently touched the copper fingers on the SD card. Even a very small amount of static electricity, too small to cause a spark or feel, may be able to damage the SD card.

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 07-31-2014 12:13 AM by vsheline.)
07-31-2014 12:05 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
photocoach Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP ST
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: EPAP 8 IPAP 22
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: On CPAP machines since 1988. Have high AHI's.

Sex: Male
Location: East Bay, CA

Post: #7
RE: ResMed S9 VPAP ST doesn't show AHI
(07-31-2014 12:05 AM)vsheline Wrote:  
(07-30-2014 03:35 PM)photocoach Wrote:  Sometimes my S9 shows AHI and sometimes not. I have been changing settings to get down AHI #. Any that would turn off AHI report?

Hi photocoach,

If all the other good suggestions don't help, try replacing the SD card.

Strange thing happened the last couple weeks when I checked my machine's data. On some nights the High Rate data (i.e., Flow data) was randomly missing from some nights. I normally disconnect power every day, so even long periods with power disconnected did not help.

Tried reformatting the SD card but that made no difference or made things worse. Replaced the SD card and all problems disappeared.

I suspect I may have inadvertently touched the copper fingers on the SD card. Even a very small amount of static electricity, too small to cause a spark or feel, may be able to damage the SD card.

Thanks. This is a good ideaI never thought of and will remember. Right now the machine is reporting AHI's regularly and they are much too high for comfort or safety so I am buying a used ASV machine the office help at my MD found for me. A warning to the less informed, if you might need an ASV machine don't arrange for anything else. They have the same codes as machines like the S9 VPAP ST and if you get such, it will be years before insurance will pay for an ASV machine.
08-05-2014 11:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,908
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #8
RE: ResMed S9 VPAP ST doesn't show AHI
(08-05-2014 11:58 PM)photocoach Wrote:  Right now the machine is reporting AHI's regularly and they are much too high for comfort or safety so I am buying a used ASV machine the office help at my MD found for me.

Hi photocoach,

First check out prices for used ASV unit at Supplier #2. (Link to Supplier List is given at top of all forum pages.) Includes professional cleaning and 6 month warrantee on both blower and humidifier:

"Gently Used Respironics System One BIPAP Auto SV Advanced Machine with Heated Humidifier. Low Hour, used. 6 month warranty on machine and humidifier. $1299.00"

This would be for the "950" model which has heated Humidifier but does not have heated hose, not the newer 960 model. Both models automatically adjust both EPAP and Pressure Support.

Occasionally Secondwind has S9 VPAP Adapt units, but usually only the older USA model 36007. I've not yet seen SecondWind offer the newer S9 VPAP Adapt model 36037 which automatically adjusts both EPAP and Pressure Support. Both models have same model name but different model number. The 36007 automatically adjusts Pressure Support but only allows manual adjustment of EPAP.

Good luck, and take care.
--- Vaughn

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 08-06-2014 03:00 AM by vsheline.)
08-06-2014 02:53 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
photocoach Offline

Members

Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP ST
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: EPAP 8 IPAP 22
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: On CPAP machines since 1988. Have high AHI's.

Sex: Male
Location: East Bay, CA

Post: #9
RE: ResMed S9 VPAP ST doesn't show AHI
Thanks. Because of the board’s recommendations I checked vender #2 earlier and didn’t find an ASV for the price you indicate. I was about to call #2’s tech when the front desk at my MD called me and said she had from another patient an ASV. Ultimately it is $700, checked out as O.K. and set by my MD’s techs. 1 ½ years old, Respironics BIPAP autoSV Advanced, System One. Don’t know yet about humidifier. I am sure I will be having questions for the board about using this model. I’ve spent hours studying about settings for the S9. Last night AHI was 57.9 with mouthpiece and tape. The mouthpiece is cutting my mouth and the tape is making my lips sore. Two nights in the last month I got down to the high teens but usually am in the thirties. I am a retired academic. This is a whole new study. The ApneaBoard and you who contribute do a great job.
08-06-2014 10:15 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,908
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #10
RE: ResMed S9 VPAP ST doesn't show AHI
(08-06-2014 10:15 AM)photocoach Wrote:  Ultimately it is $700, checked out as O.K. and set by my MD’s techs. 1 ½ years old, Respironics BIPAP autoSV Advanced, System One.

Excellent price, and even more so since it sounds like it may still be under original manufacturer's warrantee for another six months.

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 08-06-2014 11:29 AM by vsheline.)
08-06-2014 11:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question [Equipment] S9 VPAP AUTO QT2U 0 160 11-05-2016 12:27 AM
Last Post: QT2U
  resmed s9 vpap s faliure marcus112 6 381 10-21-2016 08:57 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Chinstrap doesn't prevent mouth breathing, how to solve? Snurkel 21 2,104 10-03-2016 05:03 PM
Last Post: Roy289
  How long to show improvement amykathleen2005 6 408 09-04-2016 08:08 AM
Last Post: pupcamper
  When Medicare doesn't pay Sn00zeAlarm 11 677 07-22-2016 06:15 AM
Last Post: justMongo
  Still struggling with Resmed Aircurve 10 vpap auto after 7 months ckingzzzs 2 395 07-18-2016 09:40 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Looking for some thoughts on VPAP use ckingzzzs 7 914 07-18-2016 06:59 PM
Last Post: ckingzzzs

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)