Post Reply 
[CPAP] Resmed System Error 101F????
Author Message
CJM99 Offline

Members

Posts: 7
Joined: Jun 2016

Machine: Resmed Spirit II S8
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Mirage
Humidifier: Resmed S8 humidifier
CPAP Pressure: Min 6 - Max 16
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: UK

Post: #1
Resmed System Error 101F????
I got this error message this morning.

Have any of you come across this before?
Any advice?

My device is 5 years old so I'm assuming Resmed won't do anything under warranty...

Thanks, Colin
06-07-2016 03:51 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
CJM99 Offline

Members

Posts: 7
Joined: Jun 2016

Machine: Resmed Spirit II S8
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Mirage
Humidifier: Resmed S8 humidifier
CPAP Pressure: Min 6 - Max 16
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: UK

Post: #2
Repair my S8 or buy a newer model?
Mmmm, having spoken to Resmed they are saying it would need repair.
Anyone care to advise if the newer models give extra benefits?

My options seem to be
  • Repair my S8 for £400+
  • S9 Autoset for £450 plus extra for humidifier
  • £670 for Airsense 10 Autoset
06-07-2016 04:22 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
sdb7802 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 199
Joined: Jan 2016

Machine: PR DreamStation Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed AirFit P10
Humidifier: built-in with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: 9.5-14 C-Flex 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Retired Electrical Engineer; began using cpap in 2001; FlashAir wifi card and FlashPAP app

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia, USA (The Margravate of Azilia)

Post: #3
RE: Resmed System Error 101F????
Here's what I could find for the error:

   

Just my personal opinion. My posts are not medical advice or a statement of fact. Please consult a qualified physician or other qualified medical personnel. Please comply with all applicable laws, codes, regulations, and protocols.
06-07-2016 04:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
CJM99 Offline

Members

Posts: 7
Joined: Jun 2016

Machine: Resmed Spirit II S8
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Mirage
Humidifier: Resmed S8 humidifier
CPAP Pressure: Min 6 - Max 16
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: UK

Post: #4
RE: Resmed System Error 101F????
Thanks sdb7802.
This is pretty much what Resmed have told me

I have just re-started using my CPAP after a gap of 4 years, so now seem stuck with more expense before I can get going again.

Would you or anyone care to comment on:
- Sticking with the S8 (if it can be repaired)?
- Buying an S9 or S10 and what improvements I would see?

I guess I'd need to go back to my (private) doctor to get the settings applied to any new machine (more expense...)
06-07-2016 05:06 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,840
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #5
RE: Resmed System Error 101F????
The algorithms in the newer generation machines have been improved.
I'd opt for a newer generation machine. I updated from an S8 to S9 about 2 years ago -- big difference in comfort and data capability

I'm guessing since you used the symbol for the GBP and referred to a private doctor that you are in the UK.
I don't know if the UK requires a prescription to buy a machine. The US does.

Looks like the exchange rate is about 1.46 USD to 1 GBP. So, for me to think in terms of USD, I multiply your figures by 1.46
Frankly, the prices you quote a very fair.

Setting your new machine to your prior settings is easy if you have the old settings. You can request the manual on this site and set them in yourself in minutes. Since we're taking about the Autoset, it's a pressure range.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
06-07-2016 06:05 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
CJM99 Offline

Members

Posts: 7
Joined: Jun 2016

Machine: Resmed Spirit II S8
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Mirage
Humidifier: Resmed S8 humidifier
CPAP Pressure: Min 6 - Max 16
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: UK

Post: #6
RE: Resmed System Error 101F????
Thanks JustMongo, reassuring to know the prices are comparable
And the UK Resmed site offers all their devices for sale online

(06-07-2016 06:05 AM)justMongo Wrote:  Setting your new machine to your prior settings is easy if you have the old settings. You can request the manual on this site and set them in yourself in minutes. Since we're taking about the Autoset, it's a pressure range.

So do people feel that there's little benefit in going back to the doctor?
The settings for the S8 can be directly applied to the S10?
06-07-2016 06:52 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,840
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #7
RE: Resmed System Error 101F????
(06-07-2016 06:52 AM)CJM99 Wrote:  So do people feel that there's little benefit in going back to the doctor?
The settings for the S8 can be directly applied to the S10?

Going back to the doctor may trigger a new sleep test. Your needs may have changed over 5 years. However, since we are dealing with an Autoset machine, one can infer that you have obstructive apnea; and an Auto machine can find a proper pressure for you.

You'll likely start with with your former settings. You should download Sleepyhead and follow your therapy. Both the S9 and A10 Autoset have an SD card that's readable with a computer; and graphic results can be viewed via Sleepyhead. From that, if you need a slight tweak in pressure range -- it's a piece of cake.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
06-07-2016 10:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,430
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #8
RE: Resmed System Error 101F????
Hi CJM99,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Much success to you with your CPAP therapy and good luck to you in restarting it this time around.
Hang in there for more responses to your post.

trish6hundred
06-07-2016 06:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
CJM99 Offline

Members

Posts: 7
Joined: Jun 2016

Machine: Resmed Spirit II S8
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Mirage
Humidifier: Resmed S8 humidifier
CPAP Pressure: Min 6 - Max 16
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: UK

Post: #9
RE: Resmed System Error 101F????
Thanks for your kind words Trish and Mongo.

Anyway I seem to have overcome my first hurdle. I powered off the S8, and it started without the error message!

So I gave it another go last night, having this time found my way into the Clinical menu and turned EPR on. Remember this is my first time in using this machine having had a gap of around 5 years.

I woke up again after about an hour with a strong jet of air blowing into the mask - guess I must have stopped breathing. However after waiting several minutes I was still getting blasted, so I had to stop (no way to go back to sleep in that state).

Maybe the EPR settings (2, full) aren't quite enough. I will see if I can get some data from the sression dn share here.
06-08-2016 03:30 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Luvmyzzz Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 82
Joined: Mar 2016

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips Wisp
Humidifier: Built In
CPAP Pressure: 9-13
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: First diagnosed with essential hypertension @ age 25 (precursor to CHF)

Sex: Female
Location: This side of the MilkyWay

Post: #10
RE: Resmed System Error 101F????
(06-08-2016 03:30 AM)CJM99 Wrote:  Thanks for your kind words Trish and Mongo.

Anyway I seem to have overcome my first hurdle. I powered off the S8, and it started without the error message!

So I gave it another go last night, having this time found my way into the Clinical menu and turned EPR on. Remember this is my first time in using this machine having had a gap of around 5 years.

I woke up again after about an hour with a strong jet of air blowing into the mask - guess I must have stopped breathing. However after waiting several minutes I was still getting blasted, so I had to stop (no way to go back to sleep in that state).

Maybe the EPR settings (2, full) aren't quite enough. I will see if I can get some data from the sression dn share here.

Hi CJM99, May I add my 2 cents? I was informed that the machines should be replaced every 5 years (I had mine for 10 years by the way). When I got my
new Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset, I was amazed at how well I could sleep!!
Honestly, the change is only good IMHO!! Better yet, nearly no noise, or feeling of forced air!!! It is a blessing in itself! I hope you find solace soon, it'll make you feel so much better! My old one was like yours: S8(referred to as The BRICK) My 2 cents in the pot.

I enjoy being with a group who like to share their "Hosehead" experiences, to remind me I am not alone.
06-08-2016 04:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  PR System One: C-Check vs Auto? Ailu 8 2,976 11-29-2016 02:04 PM
Last Post: TonyJ
  Philips system one noisy jpsantell 2 263 10-29-2016 10:54 AM
Last Post: robysue
  CPAP cleaning system Tommy C 97 62,483 10-20-2016 05:35 PM
Last Post: PaytonA
  [CPAP] Error code E33 1captnronrosser 3 261 10-14-2016 04:10 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [CPAP] Service Required Error Codes - Inner Workings of a CPAP machine SuperSleeper 18 65,218 10-10-2016 01:48 PM
Last Post: juan345
  Pilot-24 CPAP Battery System from Medistrom sonicboom 15 4,547 09-16-2016 11:07 AM
Last Post: DSchabel
  Remstar System One Resistance system holden4th 5 441 08-09-2016 10:17 AM
Last Post: green wings

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)