Post Reply 
[CPAP] Screen Lights On Resmed Airsense 10 Turn On & It Generates Reports Very Frequently
Author Message
tabbygreye Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed, model unsure
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 9 cmH2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #1
Ohmy Screen Lights On Resmed Airsense 10 Turn On & It Generates Reports Very Frequently
My fairly new Resmed Airsense 10 has started a new habit, in that it will go through bouts where it will turn on it's screen/dial lights every few minutes, and when I look at the screen it states that a "report has been generated". I am uncertain if I've inadvertently altered a setting to cause it to do this. And, having it turn it's lights on during the night while I'm trying to sleep isn't a good thing!
I've put it into "airplane mode", thinking that would keep it from generating it's report, but that has not worked. I'm keeping it in "airplane mode" for the time being, as I'm not keen on having a wi-fi device being constantly active just a few inches from my head.
Has anyone encountered this situation with their resmed? Any suggestions on how to get it to stop the reports and light show? Help
02-19-2016 11:29 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Possum Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 254
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: Resmed Airsense Autoset A10
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: (included in CPAP model)
CPAP Pressure: 8-12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Innovo CMS-50F+ pulse oximeter

Sex: Male
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Post: #2
RE: Screen Lights On Resmed Airsense 10 Turn On & It Generates Reports Very Frequently
I'm not sure about the light coming on during the night or the "report generated" message - might be worth running by your DME.

Regarding airplane mode, though, your CPAP machine is not a Wifi device. It has a cellular data modem, which is inactive until about an hour after you stop therapy, when it uploads your data to MyAir. That said, any risk of having data mode activated is even more infinitesimal than using your cell phone.
02-19-2016 12:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PoolQ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 986
Joined: Jul 2015

Machine: AirCurve 10 VAUTO
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Amara View
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: 6.2, 15, PS4.0
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Sillicon Valley

Post: #3
RE: Screen Lights On Resmed Airsense 10 Turn On & It Generates Reports Very Frequently
RF/magnetic fields decrease by the square of the distance. So if you think of a cell phone up to your ear and you move it 2 times farther away the signal drops by 4 times. 4 times farther away and it drops by 16 times. The CPAP modem on the night stand is so far away that you are basically getting nothing compared to a single phone call.

Personally I am not worried about cell phones, but CPAP is totally of no concern to me. IF I was concerned I would use an ear piece with my cell phone before I would worry about CPAP.

As for the strange behavior it might be caused by variations/noise on your power line. Ask you DME and then you might consider trying a power line surge protector or UPS or power line filter.
02-19-2016 01:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,452
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #4
RE: Screen Lights On Resmed Airsense 10 Turn On & It Generates Reports Very Frequently
Hi tabbygreye,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post and much success to you with your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
02-19-2016 04:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
tabbygreye Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: Resmed Airsense 10
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed, model unsure
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 9 cmH2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #5
RE: Screen Lights On Resmed Airsense 10 Turn On & It Generates Reports Very Frequently
Thanks trish6hundred! I've been using C-pap for about 10 years, and am a very compliant user and suffer if I have to sleep even one night with out my machine, which occurs rarely! My current machine is the third I've had, the other two having been a Resmed Elite and a Respironics. I almost feel as if there are too many whistles and bells on my Airsense 10. And, it's kind of creepy in a "big brother" sort of way when it starts sending multiple reports in the middle of the night and during the day! If it turns out that the cause isn't a simple setting adjustment that I can take care of my own, then I'll contact my DME.
02-19-2016 04:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
eseedhouse Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 882
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #6
RE: Screen Lights On Resmed Airsense 10 Turn On & It Generates Reports Very Frequently
(02-19-2016 11:29 AM)tabbygreye Wrote:  ...I'm not keen on having a wi-fi device being constantly active just a few inches from my head.

There is no "wifi" signal being generated - this machine uses a cell phone and if you are afraid of that being next to you then you had better toss away your own cell phone if you have one.

And it doesn't go on at night when you are sleeping, it calls Resmed about an hour after you get up.

There is NO scientific evidence that electromagnetic radiation at cell or wifi frequencies with the typical low power that is used does you any harm at all. It is not ionizing radiation and does not damage cells or molecules. It does warm tissue slightly, but the sun does that a lot more and so does your indoor heating and your electric lights (which put out MUCH more power at more damaging frequencies).

Your body has a built in thermostat that can handle these things quite well unless you are sick, in which case external heat isn't your problem.

All that aside, your machine is clearly defective and it should be fixed or replaced under warranty.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
(This post was last modified: 02-19-2016 04:54 PM by eseedhouse.)
02-19-2016 04:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Cloggd Nose elling with ResMed Airsense 10 AutoSet edmund36 3 79 Today 06:05 PM
Last Post: Mr. Van Winkle
  Turn my pressure back up? duece12345 5 179 12-07-2016 12:47 PM
Last Post: duece12345
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 26 2,539 12-04-2016 09:30 AM
Last Post: Arnie51
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,276 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  [Equipment] ResMed Airsense 10 Quit Working SherrieR 4 258 11-26-2016 07:51 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
Angry Resmed Airsense/Telstra 2G wireless kerput JamesW 2 220 11-24-2016 11:08 PM
Last Post: JamesW
  ResMed Airsense 10 Auto Set...Runaway Pressure Abnormal86 14 574 11-22-2016 11:39 PM
Last Post: sonicboom

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)