Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Starting pressure problem?
Question 
Starting pressure problem?
Hi all

I’ve been using my machine for a couple of months now and have accrued a reasonable amount of data. I’m sure I am benefitting from the therapy as my diagnosis was ‘severe sleep-disordered breathing’ with an AHI 50+ and this has been reduced to a 30 day average of 2.49. My wife has also commented that I’m ‘back from the twilight zone’ so that’s great stuff. However (whilst not want to appear greedy), from reading the forum I suspect that there may be more value to be had…

On starting therapy each night, I feel a bit short of breath as if I’m not getting quite enough air and have the need to top up by mouth-breathing for a few large lungsful. This feeling probably only lasts a few minutes but is long enough to be intrusive and generates a little unwelcome anxiety.

Looking at my settings, they appear to be at their widest and I wonder if a little tweaking might alleviate this initial air supply difficulty? I’d be grateful for any suggestions.
I’ve attached my latest Oscar data as a screenshot. If something else is needed please let me know…

Thanks

John

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Starting pressure problem?
Hi John,
This is fairly easy.  A minimum setting of 4 is too low and will give you that short of breath feeling you talked about.  We call that "air starved".

Reset the minimum pressure to 9 and bring the maximum down to 14 to narrow the range a bit.  This can help with pressure swings.  

If you can tolerate it, you can inch the minimum pressure up slowly (by .2cm daily) to reach 10cm.    
Also try EPR 3.

I think you'll find these settings more comfortable.
OpalRose
Apnea Board Administrator
www.apneaboard.com