Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Newbie help
Newbie help
Hello,
I've been recently diagnosed with severe OSA.
At this point I won't get into what got me to this point.
I need help moving forward. I've tried to read up on the subject. I'm in somewhat denial as to even needing a CPAP.I think I sleep well, 8-9 hours daily and wake up mostly just to change positions??
I'm new to all the terms and acronyms.One being AHI, my sleep test doesn't show AHI, only REI,OAI,CAI and desat. I've had 2 home sleep tests and 1 sleep lab CPAP test.
In my opinion my lab sleep test went horrible. Technician and Dr.said it went well. I only sleep for 4.5 hours broken with zero REM, 85% stage N2 sleep.CPAP was completely foreign and strange. Hard to breath out.They determined I need 12cm and slept for 44 minutes with AHI of 0.
Bottom line is I guess I need CPAP. I don't need more heath problems. I'm worried about getting used to it. I like the idea of a APAP for better breathing out.
I need advice on quality machines.Im a nose breather and will try both pillow and nostril masks. My test was with pillow.From what I'm reading these machines are not very reliable but are expensive.
Any advice is greatly appreciated!
Sorry for the fragmented rant.
I really feel stupid and lost.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Newbie help
Welcome Iwah, look at the home page, second post describing exactly what machine you need to get. Spend some time reading and educating yourself, it’s all there and will really get you started on the right path quickly.
Post Reply Post Reply