Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Airfit F10
Humidifier: Hi
CPAP Pressure: 7
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Swallowing air
Hi! I am new to CPAP therapy and need some "help".

I have the ResMed S9 and an using a FFM (ResMed AirFit F10) at this time. Surprisingly I get more claustrophobic with the nasal masks and pillows than the FFM. However, I am a very active side and tummy sleeper. I CAN and have been sleeping this way with my FFM surprisingly with no problems (using pillows and blankets creatively). BUT, I have woken up several times with very painful air bubbles in my chest during the night. Why? When I fall asleep with my mouth open I still don't "breathe" from it. I noticed last night when my mouth even slightly started to open air was being rushed into my cheeks. Any fix for this?

I'm thinking about switching to the Wisp so I can sleep more or longer on my tummy side (with less face marks) but need you guy's advice. Finally, I was also told it was "dangerous" to open your mouth or try to breathe with it open if you are using a nasal mask. Should I be scared? HELP!!!
04-22-2015 03:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
worn_out_in_lebanon Online

Advisory Members

Machine: Resmed A10 Autoset
Mask Make & Model: F20 (newest Resmed ffm)
Humidifier: Included, ClimateLine tubing
CPAP Pressure: 13-15, EPR:0
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: I.T. Project Manager. Started CPAP therapy March 16, 2015. Untreated AHI 39.

Sex: Male

RE: Swallowing air
I get some air if I am swallowing while sleeping or going to sleep. Like when I had a head cold a week ago and some post-nasal drip going on. Or if I'm still salivating a bit if I mask up too soon after brushing my teeth.
04-22-2015 05:21 PM
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier