Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

CPAP Therapy Great for Apnea Treatment, Not So Great for Good Night's Sleep
CPAP Therapy Great for Apnea Treatment, Not So Great for Good Night's Sleep
I have been using the CPAP machine for the last 12 years.  Now I am using ResMed S10 Auto with the auto setting set between 7 to 14.   I know that the machine is very useful at treating Apnea because when I get up in the morning I don't have that heavy feeling in my chest which I used to have when I was not using the CPAP.  HOWEVER, in the last 12 years, I never felt like I got a restful night of sleep.  I think that while the CPAP helps the apnea it also disturbs sleep by keeping the brain alert and not allowing it to go into the so important deep sleep stages.  I don't get deep sleep.  Only shallow sleep throughout the night and I get up tired.  So I can function throughout the day being tired but I want to be able to function at my optimal capacity and not at 1/2 capacity since I am constantly tired.  I am not an expert on these CPAP machines, but I believe my machine is functioning as intended.  I tried constant pressure of 11 (as per my doctor) but I cannot tolerate this high of pressure throughout the night.  I often don't fall asleep with this constant pressure so I usually opt out for variable pressure settings as mentioned above.  

Any advice please on what to do to get that truly restful night of sleep?   And I don't want to do a sleep study again.  They don't really work for me as I don't fall asleep and end up going home at 3 am anyways.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: CPAP Therapy Great for Apnea Treatment, Not So Great for Good Night's Sleep