Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

CPAP Use and Anemia
CPAP Use and Anemia
Does anyone know of any correlation between CPAP use and anemia?

I’ve been using my CPAP for almost a month and during that time I haven’t changed my diet or really anything else. Last week I started noticing that I was very cold intolerant and generally tired again. I believe that it is anemia. I’ve started taking iron daily and that does seem to be helping. 

My gut is telling me that there might be some correlation. My ox sats were really low before treatment. Now, I am assuming that they are much better (AHI down to low 2’s vs. 77). Is it possible that the additional oxygen in my blood stream is requiring more iron?

I am not a medical professional at all - just trying to think through this. 

Does anyone have any knowledge about this?  I may be totally off base.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: CPAP Use and Anemia
Have you seen a Doctor? A number of conditions could cause your symptoms; anemia, hypothyroid, vitamin D deficiency to mention a few. I doubt it caused by CPAP use but don't know.
Download OSCAR

Organize Charts
Attaching Charts

Mask Primer
Soft Cervical Collar

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

Post Reply Post Reply
I see my doctor in about two weeks. I already know and treat for hypothyroidism.
Post Reply Post Reply