Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Using portable power with cpap
Using portable power with cpap
I am new to using cpap but thankfully I am sleeping soundly for the first time in my life. Okay, I love to go camping and was thinking about what kind of portable power I should use. I looked up some portable and travel power sources for cpaps and they were all so expensive. So I was wondering, could I use a battery power pack that has plug ins for 110 and also has 12 volt power and has a light and a compressor on it. You know the kind of back up power sources that you can buy at sears. I have one made by Xantrex and it's called a powerpack 400. I use it when I camp and charge my cell, blow up my air mattress, and even jump my car if I need to. So would this type of power source work with my resmed S9 cpap with h5i humidifier? If not then what have you used and what was the cost?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Using portable power with cpap
Modified sine shouldn't be used with the CPAP. You could go with a battery a large deep cycle marine battery with a solar powered trickle charger and inverter. Someone posted a book in a different thread on the power requirements from the manufacturers specs. But a decent solar powered panel with an inverter to charge a decent marine battery would be nice and would be safe and quiet.

Also, welcome to the board!
If everyone thinks alike, then someone isn't thinking.
Everyone knows something, together we could know everything.
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi jmoose56,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
There are a few threads here on the board that deal with the ins and outs of battery powering CPAP machines.
Hang in there for more answers to your question and best of luck to you with your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply