Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

CPAP and hospital oxygen
#1
Question 
I use a ResMed S9 with the nasal-pillow mask. I will be spending a week in hospital soon, and the mask will interfere with the hospital-provided oxygen mask. Is there a mask that somehow integrates with the oxygen supply?

Thanks.
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
(08-30-2014, 09:27 AM)geoffleach Wrote: I use a ResMed S9 with the nasal-pillow mask. I will be spending a week in hospital soon, and the mask will interfere with the hospital-provided oxygen mask. Is there a mask that somehow integrates with the oxygen supply?

Thanks.

They should have an adapter to allow injecting O2 into the mask.

If you're concerned, you could call them
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Some of the full face masks have ports for O2 injection.

I was in the hospital twice in 2010. As an apnea patient I was assigned an RT.
The RT rolled up a CPAP machine that needed a cart.
That machine had a port for direct injection of O2 into the CPAP; it could even be set to the desired O2 content by percentage.
They provided my mask. It connected to their hose differently.
One RT knew how to adapt my standard 22mm mask connection using an adapter sleeve; another RT had no clue.

So, are they asking you to bring your machine? Best talk to them and see what arrangement can be made -- I'm sure they can come up with an accommodation.
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
I took my own APAP machine, with my oxygen hook ups. The RT's had no problem with my set up, and I was happy to have my APAP.
I purchased my oxygen adapter and one way valve from Supplier #1.
Ask the hospital first about bringing your own machine.
Good Luck,
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
In particular, the ResMed Mirage Quattro FFM has two ports for oxygen.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
The totally out of place posts about battery backup systems were moved to the battery backup system thread. They can be found here:
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...ics?page=4
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply


#7
Geoff, you need to contact the hospital or check their online patient services to see if they have a policy in place already on how they deal with patient equipment. Usually, they ask you to bring the device in ahead of time so someone from maintenance can inspect it for loose wires and the like. Sometimes they want you and someone from RT to sit down and discuss it. But most of the time they haven't anything in place.

Don't let them tell you that you won't need it. Unless you have a trach put in or a intubated, you will need your CPAP while you are sleeping, napping, or otherwise unconscious. They may try to tell you that the oxygen will get rid of that nasty problem while you are there but that won't be true.
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply
#8
Thumbsup 
I see that "Supplier #1" has oxygen connectors for my ResMed, so that's good. I'll check with the RT at the hospital as well to get things organized.

Thanks to all who replied. Thanks

Post Reply Post Reply
#9
(09-03-2014, 08:36 AM)geoffleach Wrote: I see that "Supplier #1" has oxygen connectors for my ResMed, so that's good. I'll check with the RT at the hospital as well to get things organized.

Thanks to all who replied. Thanks

I induce 2 LPM of O2 into my APAP flow using a Tee at the output of the humidifier. ResMed machines are spec'ed to handle up to 5 LPM of added flow. (I assume they act up above 5 LPM.)
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
they can actually put your full face mask over the cannula. Some of the cpap mask have holes for 02.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Medicare rules for oxygen HalfAsleep 6 160 09-14-2017, 09:50 PM
Last Post: E.W.
Question CPAP at Altitude and Oxygen concentrator, Options for portable unit? mogulman 7 162 09-06-2017, 03:21 PM
Last Post: mogulman
  Anyone start on CPAP and then add oxygen...? S.L. Ping Beauty 9 257 08-24-2017, 03:10 PM
Last Post: S.L. Ping Beauty
Question Help. Old CPAP user coming back, Oxygen needed? mogulman 21 495 08-22-2017, 02:12 PM
Last Post: Walla Walla
  Oxygen Concentrator changed everything! methodicalfool 22 906 08-14-2017, 01:01 AM
Last Post: CR Mc
Question [Equipment] Philips Respironics Dreamstation Auto BIPAP Oxygen Bleed In Issues mshelgamble 10 364 08-01-2017, 10:05 PM
Last Post: mshelgamble
Rainbow [Diagnosis] They want me to use a CPAP with oxygen concentrator Apneaprincess 50 11,274 07-15-2017, 10:51 PM
Last Post: Walla Walla

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.