Post Reply 
CPAP as cause of hypercapnia symptoms
Author Message
Shastzi Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,174
Joined: Dec 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: FitLife Total face mask
Humidifier: F&P HC150 with Hybernite heated hose.
CPAP Pressure: 15cm-20cm H2O (auto)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments: CMS50-F wearable Oximeter; Software: SPO2 Assistant

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: Florida, USA.

Post: #11
RE: CPAP as cause of hypercapnia symptoms
IMO 7cm is so low, turning off EPR (C-flex) would be a good idea.
If you can start collecting all the rest of the data and use it with SleepyHead you just might be able pinpoint issues like this overnight.

Wink

"With ordinary talent and extraordinary perseverance, all things are attainable." - Thomas Foxwell Buxton

Cool
04-04-2013 06:06 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Kellysfriend Offline

Members

Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 2013

Machine: Resmed S9
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX for Her
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Oceanside, CA

Post: #12
RE: CPAP as cause of hypercapnia symptoms
Zonk, thank you for a good explaination of how the macine works with the C-Flex on and the mask. This, for me at least, proves newer is not always better. I still have my old CPAP that just blows air (does have a ramp I never used) and masks with good vents. I am going back to using it. The Phillips Respironcis machine is being returned and Medicare and my secondary will be refunded.

My doctor did not order a machine that only recorded usage and I would not have stood for that. Last time I checked I was in charge of my life and healthcare and not subject to the CPAP police.
04-04-2013 12:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Kellysfriend Offline

Members

Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 2013

Machine: Resmed S9
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX for Her
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Oceanside, CA

Post: #13
RE: CPAP as cause of hypercapnia symptoms
I beat my brains out the other night trying to get Sleepyhead to accept the data and it would not. Actually I tried ResScan too repeatedly until I discovered it would not read data for my machine. Then I went back to Sleepyhead again and nothing. I tried Sleepyhead again yesterday morning and every trick I tried would not get the data into the program. The notes with the program say "System One" is supported. I tried putting the raw data into areas of the program where I thought it should go and that did not help. Any ideas?

(04-04-2013 06:06 AM)Shastzi Wrote:  IMO 7cm is so low, turning off EPR (C-flex) would be a good idea.
If you can start collecting all the rest of the data and use it with SleepyHead you just might be able pinpoint issues like this overnight.

Wink
04-04-2013 12:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Shastzi Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,174
Joined: Dec 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: FitLife Total face mask
Humidifier: F&P HC150 with Hybernite heated hose.
CPAP Pressure: 15cm-20cm H2O (auto)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments: CMS50-F wearable Oximeter; Software: SPO2 Assistant

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: Florida, USA.

Post: #14
RE: CPAP as cause of hypercapnia symptoms
if the data is in a compatible format you should be able to point SleepyHead at the folder the files are in and it can do the rest.

:/

"With ordinary talent and extraordinary perseverance, all things are attainable." - Thomas Foxwell Buxton

Cool
04-04-2013 12:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
vsheline Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,908
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #15
RE: CPAP as cause of hypercapnia symptoms
(04-04-2013 12:22 PM)Kellysfriend Wrote:  I beat my brains out the other night trying to get Sleepyhead to accept the data and it would not. ... I tried Sleepyhead again yesterday morning and every trick I tried would not get the data into the program.

Hi Kellysfriend,

There is a patch which needs to be installed for SleepyHead to work with the '60 series of Philips Respironics machines.

Hopefully, someone will post a link to the patch.

But I think your Respironics "Plus" machine only records number of hours used. A "Plus" machine is definitely a minus.

The ResMed "Escape" and "Escape Auto" models also only report number of hours used or not much else.

Take care,
--- Vaughn

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 04-04-2013 12:55 PM by vsheline.)
04-04-2013 12:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
SuperSleeper Offline

Administrators

Posts: 9,972
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto (DS560)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Swift II
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 12.5 - 18.5 cmH20 (auto range)
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Have diabetes Type II

Sex: Male
Location: Illinois, USA

Post: #16
RE: CPAP as cause of hypercapnia symptoms
The links to the Series 60 Patches for SleepyHead are in this thread:

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...e-software


And yep, if you have a REMstar Plus (Philips-Respironics) or an Escape (ResMed model), those doesn't record any data at all except for hours used. Sad

See this Wiki article:

http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...ne_Choices

SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.

04-04-2013 05:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #17
RE: CPAP as cause of hypercapnia symptoms
(04-04-2013 12:07 PM)Kellysfriend Wrote:  Zonk, thank you for a good explaination of how the macine works with the C-Flex on and the mask. This, for me at least, proves newer is not always better. I still have my old CPAP that just blows air (does have a ramp I never used) and masks with good vents. I am going back to using it. The Phillips Respironcis machine is being returned and Medicare and my secondary will be refunded.

The exhalation pressure relief is a cool thing to have. It makes it easier for folks with higher pressures to breathe out. But like Zonk said, with a pressure of 7, you probably don't need it.

If you do decide to stay with your older machine, have the DME check to make sure it is putting out the pressure it is supposed to be. Over time, many of them start losing their umph and do not put out the correct pressure. I tried to find out more about the machine you have listed in your profile and couldn't find anything on it. The closest I got was a 250 but that's a mobile ventilator.


Quote:My doctor did not order a machine that only recorded usage and I would not have stood for that. Last time I checked I was in charge of my life and healthcare and not subject to the CPAP police.

In your first post, you say the machine is a "Respironics REMstar Plus C-Flex CPAP". If that is true, then you got tricked. That is not a data capable machine. It only records hours used, nothing else. SuperSleeper referred to an article that explains the different machines and which to avoid.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
04-04-2013 06:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #18
RE: CPAP as cause of hypercapnia symptoms
(04-03-2013 06:46 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  All CPAP masks made in the last several years or more have exhaust ports.

Most definitely NOT true, and the difference can be deadly.

There are a number of unvented CPAP masks made for use only with an external exhalation port like the Respironics Whisper Swivel. The get used in hospitals sometimes, and are usually labeled "hospital use only."

Occasionally, someone will bring one home from the hospital. They'll occasionally show up on ebay or other "resale" sites, or even a few online supply sites without a good warning that they require an external exhalation port. This could be deadly for a "normal" patient, doubly so for a sedated or otherwise impaired patient.

I think these unvented masks rarely make it into the supply stream for "normal" DMEs, so most of them probably don't know that unvented masks exist.

There was a big stink a few years back when Respironics first introduced the ComfortGel Blue mask because some "demonstration sample" masks got distributed without a built in exhalation port.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
04-04-2013 11:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #19
RE: CPAP as cause of hypercapnia symptoms
The Swift FX for her mask has an exhaust vent in the elbow. There's no need for a separate exhale vent. Look at the holes in this image.

[Image: banner.jpg]

Do you really have a Swift FX mask of some kind? Mine has about 50 small holes in the elbow for an exhalation vent.

There should be a stream of air coming out through these holes when the machine is blowing air. You should be able to feel the airflow with your hand. If not, check to see if it's blocked somehow. Even at the lowest pressure of 4 cmH2O, you'll get more than enough air to clear out the CO2. The vents are very reliable unless you do something like cover the holes with your arm or lie face down and cover them. Even putting the covers over the vent shouldn't block enough air to matter.

It's not necessary for the air pressure to drop (called CFLEX) in order to clear out the CO2.

The Philips Respironics System One 60 series Plus CPAP machine is the model 260. Take out the water tank to be sure you don't spill any water into the machine, and look on the bottom of the blower unit. If it says something like REF 260P, it's a model 260, and it only collects "compliance" data, i.e. how long you've used the machine. No data on how well your machine is preventing apnea.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
04-04-2013 11:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Kellysfriend Offline

Members

Posts: 11
Joined: Apr 2013

Machine: Resmed S9
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage FX for Her
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: Oceanside, CA

Post: #20
RE: CPAP as cause of hypercapnia symptoms
    I do have a Mirage FX for her. Mine is different from yours, that by the way has very nice holes. This picture is very small. The holes are all the way around the place where your nose would poke out if the elbow for the hose was not there. The holes are like very small slits.

I have had the machine for 90 days. It is going to be returned and Medicare and my secondary are going to get a refund. There is something wrong with the macine as well. It has a repair code on it, something is wrong with the "computer" in the machine. I just figured this out.

Do you really have a Swift FX mask of some kind? Mine has about 50 small holes in the elbow for an exhalation vent.

There should be a stream of air coming out through these holes when the machine is blowing air. You should be able to feel the airflow with your hand. If not, check to see if it's blocked somehow. Even at the lowest pressure of 4 cmH2O, you'll get more than enough air to clear out the CO2. The vents are very reliable unless you do something like cover the holes with your arm or lie face down and cover them. Even putting the covers over the vent shouldn't block enough air to matter.

It's not necessary for the air pressure to drop (called CFLEX) in order to clear out the CO2.

The Philips Respironics System One 60 series Plus CPAP machine is the model 260. Take out the water tank to be sure you don't spill any water into the machine, and look on the bottom of the blower unit. If it says something like REF 260P, it's a model 260, and it only collects "compliance" data, i.e. how long you've used the machine. No data on how well your machine is preventing apnea.
[/quote]
(This post was last modified: 04-05-2013 03:11 AM by Kellysfriend.)
04-05-2013 03:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Symptoms of pressure being too high?? MrEGuy 4 577 10-19-2016 06:32 PM
Last Post: EnigmaGrey
Ohmy First post..looking for people who share similar symptoms mzdawn74 24 4,072 10-05-2015 02:12 PM
Last Post: cate1898
  [Symptoms] aerophagia symptoms CPAPSC 4 1,041 09-21-2015 08:07 AM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  New -questions about symptoms and time to feel better sleepyandsore 22 3,936 05-25-2015 09:38 PM
Last Post: quiescence at last
Question scary apnea symptoms and overwhelmed with data Evie1 22 2,859 02-07-2015 04:21 AM
Last Post: TheManseHen
  15 Months into the Therapy but symptoms are worse then before. Realtor 1 9 1,853 11-29-2014 11:08 PM
Last Post: rjberube
  [Symptoms] symptoms - hangover feeling next day Brian Schulz 11 4,027 04-28-2014 11:26 AM
Last Post: PaulaO2

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)