Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] new old new
Question 
new old new
Hi. I'm new here, and I'm new in the sleep apnea world, at least new to the terminology and technological advances. I seem to have fallen between the cracks in the past several years. Maybe because we changed doctors a few times. I don't know. All I know is suddenly I don't understand a word anyone is saying about sleep apnea. About 30 years ago I was diagnosed with it. OSA. I've used CPAPs ever since, but technology passed me by. Now, I know nothing. And I can't talk intelligently to anyone about it. For example, what is a central apnea?   Huhsign

Additionally, my husband picked out an insurance for me that was a big mistake. Huge co-pay that won't pay for anything. I've lost a lot of weight in the past 3 years, and I find I will have to have another sleep study. But I can't pay for it. So I'm trying to make do with what I can get. 

The first go round, I got a CPAP from a friend. But I didn't know til I got there that she smokes. Well, that's bad for me and my asthma and allergies! So I got another used CPaP, 10 years old  (ResMed S6). I found out online that you can't adjust that particular one without outside equipment and help. Shucks!    Sad

Right now I'm using my son's old CPAP, and he's using the one I thought was broken (ResMed S9). It seems to be working fine for him. I still think it needs fixing. But we need one more CPAP so I can get it in for repair. I'm stumped to know what to do next. Any ideas? 

Also, is there a good reference somewhere so that I can catch up on terminology? (Yes, I read the first article on this forum about the different types of machines. I had not know about any of that. Thank you!!  Lolabove )
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: new old new