Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

CPAP newbie trying to interpret Oscar
CPAP newbie trying to interpret Oscar
Hello all. I am new to CPAP. Was diagnosed with at home study, 59 apnea events/hr, lowest O2 62%, average O2 89%, open-mouth breather, with a obscenely loud snore. Should have done this years ago, but basically got busy with it when my wife booted me to the guest room.  I am on my 3rd week of use, and back in the master bedroom so making progress.. I am still working out kinks with mask fit (the mask fit primer helped immensely). 10 days with Vitera at 7-9 hrs a night, and AHI between 3.5-5. Due to leaks and comfort, changed to DreamWear FFM, with a significant increase on comfort, and a decrease in AHI to below 3. I have been perusing these boards and learned enough to get doc to give me a SD card to add to machine, and his blessing to tweak levels. He set me initially at 4-20, and at 4 felt O2 starved. After reviewing initial Oscar reading I set range to 9-20 2 nights ago, and AHI dropped further.

He is my most pertinent issue. Regardless of mask or settings, I am waking every 2-3 hrs. With the vitera and early with dreamwear FFM i would wake due to high pressure and mask leak. However, now that my leaks are minimal, i still awake. I feel so much better, with not waking in the am feeling tingly, numb, sore throats, etc...But i do feel sleep deprived. I am trying to understand the data to determine if the arousal is due to something that can be controlled or improved with the ACPAP settings. I have been trying to wrap my head around this information, but there is just so much I do not yet understand. Any assistance would be most welcome. Just remember, some of the terms are still foreign, i.e., RERA? But I am learning.

Post Reply Post Reply