Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

CPAP not working
#1
Hello Mark, My husband and I are from Missouri, USA. He is about 500 miles away on a trip and the machine is not working at all. Powers up but does not blow air. He has a RE Master Plus. He says two lights come on but that is it. I am desperate to try to figure out how to get this fixed. The servicing company is retarded and claim that since we "own" the machine that she can't help me (respiratory therapist) without a prescription. The last time he didn't have his machine, he ended up in the hospital for a heart damage / heart attack for five days. So do you know what to do to this machine? Reset or maybe something else? What site can I go to or who to talk to if you don't have any info on this machine?
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
(07-22-2012, 11:03 AM)Robert and Robin Johnson Wrote: Hello Mark, My husband and I are from Missouri, USA. He is about 500 miles away on a trip and the machine is not working at all. Powers up but does not blow air. He has a RE Master Plus. He says two lights come on but that is it. I am desperate to try to figure out how to get this fixed. The servicing company is retarded and claim that since we "own" the machine that she can't help me (respiratory therapist) without a prescription. The last time he didn't have his machine, he ended up in the hospital for a heart damage / heart attack for five days. So do you know what to do to this machine? Reset or maybe something else? What site can I go to or who to talk to if you don't have any info on this machine?

First of all, welcome to the forum!!! We are glad you joined us!!! Welcome

As to how to reset your machine, have you downloaded the CPAP Clinician Setup Manual. It may have the information you are looking for. If it doesn't, you might want to contact Respironics and speak with customer service to try to resolve your issues.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
(07-22-2012, 11:03 AM)Robert and Robin Johnson Wrote: Hello Mark, My husband and I are from Missouri, USA. He is about 500 miles away on a trip and the machine is not working at all. Powers up but does not blow air. He has a RE Master Plus. He says two lights come on but that is it. I am desperate to try to figure out how to get this fixed. The servicing company is retarded and claim that since we "own" the machine that she can't help me (respiratory therapist) without a prescription. The last time he didn't have his machine, he ended up in the hospital for a heart damage / heart attack for five days. So do you know what to do to this machine? Reset or maybe something else? What site can I go to or who to talk to if you don't have any info on this machine?

Robin,
Welcome to the Forum!
I believe you are talking about the REMStar Plus. This is a very old machine and it would have to go back to Respironics to repair it. I have had one of those for years and only recently got a new machine and as far as I know there is no reset or anything on it.
The good news is that you can order a replacement machine from Supplier#2. They sell gently used machines that are all cleansed and sanitized, etc and have very low hours on them. I upgraded to the DS550 Auto which is a very nice machine. Many folks here like the Resmed S9. However you cut it, the prices on these machines are really great! Go to the thread here:
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...plier-List
and look at Supplier #2 (SecondwindCPAP) It is probably cheaper to get a good working machine from these guys than trying to have that old brick repaired. The new machines are so far improved it is unreal! I encourage you to talk to your husband about this. If you still just want a working one like the one your husband has, you can buy a replacement machine from them as well. Good luck.
As always, YMMV! You do not have to agree or disagree, I am not a professional so my mental meanderings are simply recollections of things from my own life.

PRS1 - Auto - A-Flex x2 - 12.50 - 20 - Humid x2 - Swift FX
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
These posts were split off of the ResScan thread, because it's a different topic.

Thanks.
SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.



Post Reply Post Reply
#5
Thanks everyone. I will try this when I get home. Our local American Home Patient place is good at fixing stuff. He is just on holiday now. The therapist rethought her answers and did actually provide him with a loaner. I think it had mostly to do with prayers and a little bit about telling her I have her full name if my husband ended up having another heart attack.

Post Reply Post Reply
#6
Hi Robin - Its good you managed to get them providing the loaner machine. Sometimes its cheaper to replace the machine than trying to repair.
Try to unplug the machine, disconnect everything thing including the humidifier, take the card out if got any, and plug the machine back - sometimes rebooting can help. Is any error code displayed on the machine - Here are the list of error codes for RemStar machines
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...AP-machine



Post Reply Post Reply


#7
Hi Robert and Robin Johnson, First, I'd like to Welcome! you to the forum.! I hope things work out with the CPAP problems. Best of luck.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
Is there any kind of error code on the display?

http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...rror_codes
PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Is my dreamstation humidifier working? ghstudio 2 101 12-10-2017, 05:21 PM
Last Post: ghstudio
  [CPAP] Full Mask ResMed F10 Not Working sammiller 3 167 11-30-2017, 03:34 PM
Last Post: sammiller
  [CPAP] CPAP working but Still Exhausted BigT 8 355 11-11-2017, 06:30 PM
Last Post: BigT
  Is it Working? shinkdavid 20 1,094 11-04-2017, 12:43 PM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94
  Is my humidifier working or not? Roger Oscar Lima 9 471 11-02-2017, 06:33 PM
Last Post: Roger Oscar Lima
  Res Med S9 just stopped working!` sjssf 11 359 10-31-2017, 10:23 AM
Last Post: Spy Car
  algorithm not working for me elocin71 3 219 10-16-2017, 05:24 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.