Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

CPAP vs APAP for SleepyHead
#1
CPAP vs APAP for SleepyHead
Hi, All,

A newbie question:
My 6-year old Responics M CPAP machine died, and am shopping around for a new machine.

I am considering Responics or IntelliPAP, both are compatible with SleepyHead. But I don't know how much data CPAP versus APAP generate. Does a CPAP generate the same types of data as an APAP?

Thanks.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
RE: CPAP vs APAP for SleepyHead
Hi c120,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for answers to your questions, someone will be able to help you soon.
Best of luck.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
RE: CPAP vs APAP for SleepyHead
Phillips Respironcis generate more data
IntelliPAP does not show waveform data

Make sure the machine is Phillips Respironcis System One REMstar Auto with A-Flex ... model number 550 or 560

550 ... 50 series machine
560 ... 60 series machine with heated hose option

Both supported by SleepyHead but you need to install the patch for 60 series machines as noted here
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...e-software



Post Reply Post Reply
#4
RE: CPAP vs APAP for SleepyHead
Thank you very much!

Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#5
RE: CPAP vs APAP for SleepyHead
The data collection is much better on the Respironics. i.e. Respironics records airflow, and more detail on the apneas you have. In particular, the IntelliPAP doesn't record the duration of apneas or allow you to see how severe the individual apneas are.

The IntelliPAP requires an optional data module that costs about $100 at Supplier #1. Without that, there is no SD card you can read the data from.

The PRS1 (Philips Respironics System One) Pro is good, but it's manual CPAP pressure. The PRS1 Auto will do everything the Elite will do, but also does auto pressure. Get the Auto if you can.

Avoid the PRS1 Plus or the "unlabeled" PRS1 model 160/150. They collect a LOT less data. There's also a Philips Respironics "SE" model that is even more limited.

Check carefully. Many DMEs will try to give you a lesser machine to increase their profits.

Get the free OSCAR CPAP software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Should I believe the APAP readings? GDB2222 10 357 06-26-2022, 12:52 PM
Last Post: Dormeo
  APAP Suddenly Not Detecting AHI Rootkit 8 348 06-03-2022, 01:36 PM
Last Post: clownbell
  [Update] ASV vs APAP Oscar data Moemah123 15 846 05-24-2022, 04:16 PM
Last Post: Moemah123
  Sleep Test Results - APAP starting settings? Quarky68 2 236 05-20-2022, 11:52 AM
Last Post: Quarky68
  New to APAP with low AHI djskittles 9 539 05-03-2022, 04:32 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  Two weeks on APAP and trying to understand Gtobot 8 566 04-30-2022, 07:18 PM
Last Post: Gtobot
  APAP recommendations? dler4 1 195 04-26-2022, 11:49 AM
Last Post: Crimson Nape


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.