Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

CPAP vs BIPAP vs APAP
CPAP vs BIPAP vs APAP
I'm a newbie.  Have been reading extensively on internet.  I know CPAP is the basic machine, BIPAP is a machine that lowers pressure for easier exhaling, but I'm confused as to what APAP  does.  Read abt so many people stuck w/wrong machine ($700 - $1000 down the drain).  If I can talk them into an APAP, is it a machine that can be stepped down to whatever I decide I am a few months from now?  IE, could it function as a BIPAP or a CPAP w/ some dumbing down?

But first of all, just what does an APAP do?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: CPAP vs BIPAP vs APAP
The Simple Version,   but first, and most importantly you want a machine that reports full detailed data, not just compliance data

CPAP --- Basic Single pressure solution - Also a generic title for all "PAP" machines.
APAP --- CPAP but has an Automode,  this is the same insurance code as the above CPAP machine.  This is the most preferred class of machines for MOST people.  This, and the above machine is what MOST people need.

More Advanced than above - 
BiPAP/BiLevel (depending of manufacture.)  There are several different models which contain different treatment algorithms depending on the cause of your Apnea.  Most models can be used as a basic CPAP.  The first level is similar to ResMed AirCurve 10 VAUTO.  Used for high pressure CPAP (GT 15-20 cmH2O) and for hypopnea treatment.

even more advanced
ASV Auto Servo Ventilator - The best at treating Central Apneas.

Read the links in my sig for more basic info.

Fred
Post Reply Post Reply
Usually APAP machines can also be set to CPAP mnode but not to BIPAP.