Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] what happened to me last night?
Question 
what happened to me last night?
hey all. i'm new to cpap and newly diagnosed with osa a few months ago. i've been using my machine for about ten days, i feel worse than i did before starting treatment, and am now beginning to wonder if i even have OSA as the data in OSCAR never shows anything that would seem to indicate it's treating OSA... anyway. my AHI numbers for the last week or so are usually around 4 or less, but last night the AHI was 25. this is twice what i was diagnosed as having on a watchpat when i was diagnosed with OSA. almost all of the events are central according to the software, and all of the events in the last ten days have been central as well. i'm not even able to talk to a doctor for another few weeks, this machine feels like it's ruining my life that was already bad, when its supposed to be helping...

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: what happened to me last night?
it's not uncommon for new pappers to develop treatment emergent / pressure induced central apnea. it's also very common for sleep docs to ignore ca & automatically diagnose osa. review your full test report to see if it checked for ca and if so look for the ca index (frequency per hour).

assuming your sleep test didn't show much ca, treatment emergent ca should abate in 30 - 90 days of pap use. meanwhile you can try to avoid them (your machine will identify but doesn't treat them) by reducing or turning epr off & setting a narrow range or a fixed pressure.

also, your min pressure of 4 is too low for most people, leaving them feel air starved. in addition, anything lower than 7 renders epr 3 useless.