Post Reply 
Can I ask a Stupid Question?
Author Message
Cutter Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 324
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Elite
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift LT
Humidifier: Hi5
CPAP Pressure: 12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Kansas

Post: #21
RE: Can I ask a Stupid Question?
I 'll bet that SleepyHead Mark knows exactly how time is tracked on the XPAPs. I'll bet it is simpler than anyone here would think.

This post is a natural product. The slight variations in spelling and 
grammar enhance its individual character and beauty and in no way 
are to be considered flaws or defects.
 
(This post was last modified: 04-16-2012 06:59 PM by Cutter.)
04-16-2012 06:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
JudgeMental Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 324
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Respironics DreamStation Auto-CPAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Amara View
Humidifier: Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 11-14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Florida USA

Post: #22
RE: Can I ask a Stupid Question?
MY PS1 has been 16min faster then the correct time since the day I got it. (1 1/2yr ago) I figured the DME RT had a fast watch (so she could go home early) and set it that way. I just drag the 16min if I need to get to the right event.

Yesterday is history; Tomorrow is a mystery; Today is a gift; Thats why its called "The Present".
04-16-2012 08:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,994
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #23
RE: Can I ask a Stupid Question?
(04-16-2012 06:49 PM)SuperSleeper Wrote:  Yep, I think the atomic watches work better than the atomic wall-clocks or alarm clocks designed for inside the home. With a wristwatch, since you're generally outside at least once a day or so with it on, it can get the radio signal from Colorado rather easily (no walls or other obstructions shielding the signal from your watch). A watch can keep incredibly accurate time due to being synced up so often.

Nowadays clocks and watches can be made to keep time very precisely. And it's not expensive.

My watch gets its signal during the night. There's a spot on my dresser near a window that works well. The thing is, if you want to force a synch during the day, you have to pretty much keep the watch stationary for the several minutes it takes to complete the process.

With a clock, we put it where we want it to be, not necessarily where it'll get the best signal. The watch even tells you how strong the signal is, and when it performed the last successful synch.

Usually it's in commercial buildings where you have problems getting a signal because of the steel beams and steel reinforcement rod in the walls. A house with aluminum siding would be murder!

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
(This post was last modified: 04-16-2012 08:51 PM by Sleepster.)
04-16-2012 08:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,994
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #24
RE: Can I ask a Stupid Question?
(04-16-2012 06:59 PM)Cutter Wrote:  I 'll bet that SleepyHead Mark knows exactly how time is tracked on the XPAPs. I'll bet it is simpler than anyone here would think.

I'll bet that it uses a button cell battery, and its set to GMT at the factory when it's built.

And, oh yeah, I bet Jedi Mark knows, too.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
04-16-2012 08:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
pk6301 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 31
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: Respironics System One Model 550
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 6-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreViewer

Other Comments: cms 50D Plus

Sex: Male
Location: Erie, Pennsylvania

Post: #25
RE: Can I ask a Stupid Question?
Hey, I said it was plausibleI think he is nuts too, but I called Respironics and they were no help, Somehow someway it keeps track of day and time, I will keep trying to find out and keep you informed if I find an answer

Someone once asked me how I adjusted to CPAP so well--I thought for a moment and said I had two choices CPAP or DEATH..The choice was easy..
04-16-2012 08:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Rritch Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 107
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Respironics System One Pro (450)
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: Respironics System One
CPAP Pressure: 10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: NoVA USA

Post: #26
RE: Can I ask a Stupid Question?
Here is a picture that SuperSleeper posted of an earlier RemStar in another thread. You can clearly see the button battery at the top left of the circuit board. My vote is an internal clock set at the factory.

[Image: attachment.php?aid=26]
04-17-2012 02:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Cutter Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 324
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Elite
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift LT
Humidifier: Hi5
CPAP Pressure: 12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Kansas

Post: #27
RE: Can I ask a Stupid Question?
I recently acquired a ResMed S-9 Auto for my Wife. I was setting it up and I noticed that the clock had the wrong time. I set it at the correct time. It was set to California time where I picked it up. The S-9 has a clock that it displays.

This post is a natural product. The slight variations in spelling and 
grammar enhance its individual character and beauty and in no way 
are to be considered flaws or defects.
 
04-17-2012 04:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,994
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #28
RE: Can I ask a Stupid Question?
(04-16-2012 05:56 PM)Sleepster Wrote:  I've heard that technicians can set the time and update the firmware with a special cable that connects a laptop to a socket in the botom of the machine. I see no such socket, though! There's a small removeable panel surrounding the slot where the SD card is inserted, but I see no socket behind that panel, either!

I think I discovered something ... found this in the User Manual:

Before operating the device, ensure that the SD card cover is replaced whenever any of the accessories such as the Link Module or Modem are not installed.

My guess is that this "Link Module" plugs in somehow behind that SD card cover, and that is how a tech sets the time on the machine.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
04-17-2012 07:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
pk6301 Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 31
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: Respironics System One Model 550
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 6-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreViewer

Other Comments: cms 50D Plus

Sex: Male
Location: Erie, Pennsylvania

Post: #29
RE: Can I ask a Stupid Question?
(04-17-2012 02:02 PM)Rritch Wrote:  Here is a picture that SuperSleeper posted of an earlier RemStar in another thread. You can clearly see the button battery at the top left of the circuit board. My vote is an internal clock set at the factory.

[Image: attachment.php?aid=26]

I would go with the button battery theory, but, would the battery last the 4-5 years before the user would replace the machine through normal wear and tear?.. I have a hard time wrapping my head around that theory

Someone once asked me how I adjusted to CPAP so well--I thought for a moment and said I had two choices CPAP or DEATH..The choice was easy..
04-17-2012 08:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
greatunclebill Offline

Members-b

Posts: 549
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Respironics System one Auto A-Flex
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model:
Humidifier: System one
CPAP Pressure: 8-12
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreViewer

Other Comments: quattro fx full face

Sex: Male
Location: L.A. (Lower Alabama)

Post: #30
RE: Can I ask a Stupid Question?
(04-17-2012 07:35 PM)Sleepster Wrote:  
(04-16-2012 05:56 PM)Sleepster Wrote:  I've heard that technicians can set the time and update the firmware with a special cable that connects a laptop to a socket in the botom of the machine. I see no such socket, though! There's a small removeable panel surrounding the slot where the SD card is inserted, but I see no socket behind that panel, either!

I think I discovered something ... found this in the User Manual:

Before operating the device, ensure that the SD card cover is replaced whenever any of the accessories such as the Link Module or Modem are not installed.

My guess is that this "Link Module" plugs in somehow behind that SD card cover, and that is how a tech sets the time on the machine.

here's what i have: my unit came from an on-line dealer in washington (pacific time) in an unopened factory sealed box. i live in alabama (central time). the thing that puzzles me is how the guy in the final inspection station in the factory would know to set my machine to central time when it was going to a dealer in washington. the second question is what happens if i move to a new time zone? if the cpap time is preset to my time zone, the time would be screwed up if i moved to washington, 2 time zones away. well, i download my data to 2 laptops every morning and the time is always correct. so tonite one of my desktop's moved to washington for a couple minutes. i set the computer clock to pacific time, downloaded and installed sleepyhead and set my time in sleepyhead to pacific time. the result was the software thought i was in washington and recorded all data 2 hours earlier as if i was in washington. i still think the internal clock is set to gmt as i've heard. the tech messing with the clock, if he does, could in fact be him just activating the clock.
04-17-2012 08:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Gross A problem I think is stupid. snuffles 28 5,883 10-05-2014 10:41 AM
Last Post: snuffles
  Stupid Mask question for a "sidesleeper" with full face needed Mac_Sheepcounter 20 3,482 09-19-2014 02:55 AM
Last Post: vsheline
  A small rant: Does anybody have any idea why even "smart APAP machines" are stupid? Terry 7 1,998 08-16-2014 06:21 AM
Last Post: JimZZZ
  Hate to ask stupid questions.... drgrimes 16 3,156 11-18-2013 07:09 PM
Last Post: SuperSleeper

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)