Post Reply 
Can I change DME - new diagnosis - how to do it
Author Message
lanCine Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: bipap st
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 12
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #1
Can I change DME - new diagnosis - how to do it
I have recently completed overnight test and second night titration study. The sleep center sent a pap prescription to their in house DME. I have experienced dumb down responses from the DME refusing to confirm the specific machine, mask, or any other accessories and supplies they propose to satisfy the prescription. As a result I want to terminate any further relationship with that DME.

I feel trapped since they have the prescription. Can I select a different DME and if so how do I rescue the prescription and other documentation and have it sent to the DME of my choice?

I should mention that I have a Medicare Advantage plan and the insurance has already authorized the original provider to fill the prescription.

This is obviously my first experience and I am feeling a bit desperate to find a fair and responsive provider. My diagnosis is severe with near 50% oxygen and over 60 AHI per hour.
03-14-2016 03:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,853
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #2
RE: Can I change DME - new diagnosis - how to do it
Welcome
You are entitled under HIPPA to a copy of your Rx and your sleep study.
You should demand those regardless of what path you choose.
You could take that Rx to any provider.
Just because they have authorized the original provider to fill the prescription does not mean you are stuck with it.
Until you take delivery, you have options -- limited options.
Being in a Medicare Advantage Program limits your choice if you wish to take full advantage of their payment.
Will your insurance permit you to go out of network with a higher copay?
Could you afford to pay for a machine out-of-pocket?

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
(This post was last modified: 03-14-2016 03:14 PM by justMongo.)
03-14-2016 03:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
lanCine Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: bipap st
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 12
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #3
RE: Can I change DME - new diagnosis - how to do it
My plan does allow out of network at a major premium. I think there are adequate providers in network. As to paying out of pocket, I could do that, however, my copay is 20% so I am not too keen on that.

I wonder is it common for a provider to go back to the Md/sleep center to get whatever reports they need or will I find myself in the middle since I am backing out of one DME and seeking a second? (It's obvious I am really squeamish since I have had such inconsiderate treatment from the original DME.)
03-14-2016 04:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OpalRose Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,181
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto 560 with A Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 For Her
Humidifier: REMStar heated humidifier with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto Cpap 10-13 AFLEX 1
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Started CPAP Therapy October 23, 2014

Sex: Female
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Post: #4
RE: Can I change DME - new diagnosis - how to do it
Call your Medicare Advantage Plan and explain your concerns. If they have not yet paid toward that machine, then there should be no reason you can't switch to another DME.

Make sure you understand your coverage, don't believe what a DME tells you, and don't accept anything less than a data capable Auto Cpap. Medicare Advantage Plans pay the exact amount whether it is a straight Cpap or auto Cpap.

Here is a link of current machines, and what ones to avoid.
http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...ne_Choices

You should always keep a copy of your script. You would need it if you wanted to buy online too.

OpalRose
03-14-2016 05:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,330
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #5
RE: Can I change DME - new diagnosis - how to do it
If I understood you correctly, you said that it was the prescribing authority's own DME that is the equipment provider. If so, that is in direct violation of Medicare guidelines. A prescribing entity is not allowed to act as the equipment provider. I encountered this when I was supplied my CPAP by my Pulmonologist while I was on private insurance and then later went on a Medicare Advantage Plan.

Also, like Mongo said, you're entitled to your Rx and Sleep Study.

Good Luck.

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
03-14-2016 05:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
JudgeMental Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 324
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: Respironics DreamStation Auto-CPAP
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Amara View
Humidifier: Respironics
CPAP Pressure: 11-14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Florida USA

Post: #6
RE: Can I change DME - new diagnosis - how to do it
JustMongo and OpalRose have given you great forward thinking advice. My question is this..Is this DME and their response that overwhelmingly unbearing that maybe some mutual agreement between the two of you would allow a smoother relationship. It sure would save you a lot of grief. Is there was something there that you could just "bite the bullet" over.

Yesterday is history; Tomorrow is a mystery; Today is a gift; Thats why its called "The Present".
03-14-2016 05:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Terry Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 553
Joined: May 2014

Machine: Philips Respironics RemStar Auto with A-Flex (560P)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P/R Nuance & Pap Cap
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: Auto
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #7
RE: Can I change DME - new diagnosis - how to do it
(03-14-2016 04:43 PM)lanCine Wrote:  As to paying out of pocket, I could do that, however, my copay is 20% so I am not too keen on that.

That may not be a big deal. 20% of a hugely inflated fantasy price isn't much different than 100% of what you can buy the machine for, with cash.

If I get a machine though my DME, it's roughly $50/month for 10 months, while I can buy the same machine online for $500-$600 cash.
03-14-2016 09:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,450
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #8
RE: Can I change DME - new diagnosis - how to do it
Hi lanCine,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Much success to you with your CPAP therapy and good luck getting your DME problems straightened out.

trish6hundred
03-14-2016 10:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
lanCine Offline

New Members

Posts: 3
Joined: Feb 2016

Machine: bipap st
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: unsure
Humidifier: unsure
CPAP Pressure: 12
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #9
RE: Can I change DME - new diagnosis - how to do it
Thank you each one! Every reply had something useful to me. Even the thought that maybe I should just try to cool it. I will consider even that.

Once again I appreciate the information and the spirit in which it is given. These forums are a breath of fresh air for me.
03-15-2016 02:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Pressure] Change Pressure on AirCurve 10 VAuto info 31 4,942 Yesterday 09:34 AM
Last Post: _cy_
  advice for diagnosis steps to take odoyle 14 557 12-05-2016 08:44 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Pressure] How to change pressure - Respironics Solo slgoltz 5 20,022 11-30-2016 06:32 PM
Last Post: randx2
Smile [CPAP] Diagnosis + prescription = Frustration... ApneaBoard + experimenting = Salvation! OldVet 8 288 11-28-2016 08:24 PM
Last Post: OldVet
Question Change Humidity Level Seasonally txpap 9 519 11-21-2016 06:58 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  pressure change cwvincent 2 357 10-16-2016 04:22 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [CPAP] ANOTHER CPAP PRESSURE CHANGE!!! jennie54 3 427 10-11-2016 04:44 PM
Last Post: SaldusMiegas

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)