Post Reply 
Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
Author Message
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,851
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #1
Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
I run Norton Internet Security.
Can I also run malwarebytes also; or will the two clash?

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
06-05-2015 11:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
big_dave Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 411
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: PR System One DS560
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: F&P Pilairo Q or ResMed Mirage Activa
Humidifier: PR System One
CPAP Pressure: 14 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Former ResMed S8 Autoset II user

Sex: Male
Location: Eugene, Oregon

Post: #2
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
The Malwarebytes website shows that Malwarebytes is compatible with both Norton 360 and Symantec Endpoint Protection. Both use the same technology as Norton Internet Security (just a different feature set), so you can expect it to be compatible as well.
06-06-2015 01:36 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #3
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
The problem of course, is that Malwarebytes will not eliminate a Norton infection.
06-06-2015 11:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Homerec130 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 445
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: Philips/Resperonics BiPAP auto SV Advanced System One (950P)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quatro FX
Humidifier: Philips Respironics System 1
CPAP Pressure: 6-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: But it is a dry heat.

Sex: Male
Location: Tucson, AZ

Post: #4
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
I run Malware Bytes and Bitdefender on my laptop without any problems. I have too many issues with Norton over the years with it hogging resources. BTW, also run Bitdefender on my Mac. Told many years ago (by a Symantec rep even) that Norton and Macs don't play well together (even on their Mac product).

Homer
06-06-2015 12:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,851
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #5
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
Norton is a matter of habit. We ran it in the SCIFs.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
06-06-2015 12:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Mark Douglas Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 513
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Sys 1 (60) RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-Flex 760P Auto Bi-Level (Variabl
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Wisp
Humidifier: PR Sys One heated
CPAP Pressure: RiseTime 3 Fxd E-9.0 / I-11.5
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Hashimoto's thyroiditis.

Sex: Male
Location: SW Ohio

Post: #6
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
(06-06-2015 11:59 AM)retired_guy Wrote:  The problem of course, is that Malwarebytes will not eliminate a Norton infection.

Isn't that the truth! just try to get rid of Snorton.

I use my PAP machine nightly and I feel great!
Updated: Philips Respironics System One (60 Series)
RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-FlexModel 760P -
Rise Time x3 Fixed Bi-Level EPAP 9.0 IPAP 11.5 (cmH2O)
06-06-2015 12:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Crimson Nape Offline

Monitors

Posts: 1,329
Joined: Oct 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: P-10 / F&P Simplus / DreamWear
Humidifier: H5i w/Climateline
CPAP Pressure: 8 - EPR 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CMS-50F & 50IW

Sex: Male
Location: Georgia

Post: #7
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
Comcast provides Norton to its customers free. I used it until Norton started treating everything as a threat. I finally had to remove it just to let the computer operate.

Statistics prove that people who have more birthdays live longer.
06-06-2015 02:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
GWild Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 88
Joined: May 2014

Machine: RemStar Sys1 560P
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Ultra Mirage
Humidifier: Sys1
CPAP Pressure: 8 - 20 auto / 8.9 avg
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #8
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
I have always wondered why anyone outside a corporate network would pay for firewalls and anti-malware tools when Microsoft has a reasonable fair set of tools that come for free.
06-06-2015 02:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,851
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #9
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
(06-06-2015 02:15 PM)sgearhart Wrote:  Comcast provides Norton to its customers free. I used it until Norton started treating everything as a threat. I finally had to remove it just to let the computer operate.

Respectfully, nothing is truly free from Comcast.

(06-06-2015 02:20 PM)GWild Wrote:  I have always wondered why anyone outside a corporate network would pay for firewalls and anti-malware tools when Microsoft has a reasonable fair set of tools that come for free.

Microsoft did not always do so. Plus, nothing idiot proofs a system/network.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
06-06-2015 04:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
AlanE Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,496
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10 & Mirage Liberty backup
Humidifier: Built-in
CPAP Pressure: 10-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

Sex: Male
Location: Southwest Florida

Post: #10
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
(06-06-2015 02:20 PM)GWild Wrote:  I have always wondered why anyone outside a corporate network would pay for firewalls and anti-malware tools when Microsoft has a reasonable fair set of tools that come for free.

Microsoft has a habit of abandoning their tools in a heartbeat. Used to use Microsoft Money. Had to go back to quicken which is the ultimate POS. Still doesn't work right after all these years. Netmeeting - There are better products now but when they changed it to Windows Live (I think), it never worked right and we scrambled to find ways to get netmeeting to work with 7. Win 7 and 8 users have a decent builtin DVD player. That will go away in 10. Just as well, VLC is a better product but why make users go 3rd party... Bet MS will buy them out and proceed to ruin it. Skype used to be good until MS bought it. Now I won't even run the junk anymore. It's bad when you have to use 3rd party programs to replace something builtin to 7. I dumped IE years ago in favor of firefox. Will never go back to IE or whatever it will be called (edge?) in the next version. Stinks that I have to use IE for work.

Virtual Windows XP Mode was probably the best Windows 7 upgrade they released. I still use it for the Cisco ASDM.



Using FlashAir W-03 SD card in machine. Access through wifi with FlashPAP or Sleep Master utilities.

I wanted to learn Binary so I enrolled in Binary 101. I seemed to have missed the first four courses. Big Grinnie
06-06-2015 04:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  malwarebytes -- remind me justMongo 10 229 11-28-2016 12:21 PM
Last Post: sleepyguy99

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)