Post Reply 
Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
Author Message
Mark Douglas Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 513
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Sys 1 (60) RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-Flex 760P Auto Bi-Level (Variabl
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Wisp
Humidifier: PR Sys One heated
CPAP Pressure: RiseTime 3 Fxd E-9.0 / I-11.5
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Hashimoto's thyroiditis.

Sex: Male
Location: SW Ohio

Post: #11
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
(06-06-2015 04:46 PM)AlanE Wrote:  
(06-06-2015 02:20 PM)GWild Wrote:  I have always wondered why anyone outside a corporate network would pay for firewalls and anti-malware tools when Microsoft has a reasonable fair set of tools that come for free.

Microsoft has a habit of abandoning their tools in a heartbeat. Used to use Microsoft Money. Had to go back to quicken which is the ultimate POS. Still doesn't work right after all these years. Netmeeting - There are better products now but when they changed it to Windows Live (I think), it never worked right and we scrambled to find ways to get netmeeting to work with 7. Win 7 and 8 users have a decent builtin DVD player. That will go away in 10. Just as well, VLC is a better product but why make users go 3rd party... Bet MS will buy them out and proceed to ruin it. Skype used to be good until MS bought it. Now I won't even run the junk anymore. It's bad when you have to use 3rd party programs to replace something builtin to 7. I dumped IE years ago in favor of firefox. Will never go back to IE or whatever it will be called (edge?) in the next version. Stinks that I have to use IE for work.

Virtual Windows XP Mode was probably the best Windows 7 upgrade they released. I still use it for the Cisco ASDM.


I still use money 2001 in win7 in virtualbox in linux mint 17.1
I also have 7 on it's own partition for those pitas that just won't run anyway but native - or at least it is beyond me to get them to in linux
Here let me ease your pain [links removed] Linux Mint and PC Linux OS are very good.

-----
Moderator Action: Link Removed
To maintain our status as an educational organization, the only commercial links allowed in this forum are to CPAP-related manufacturer websites. This is stated in the Apnea Board Rules with details given in the Commercial Links Policy section.
-----

I use my PAP machine nightly and I feel great!
Updated: Philips Respironics System One (60 Series)
RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-FlexModel 760P -
Rise Time x3 Fixed Bi-Level EPAP 9.0 IPAP 11.5 (cmH2O)
06-06-2015 07:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
me50 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 2,559
Joined: Aug 2013

Machine: resmed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Wisp and Silicone Head gear
Humidifier: resmed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18/8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #12
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
I have defender, malewarebytes and also Trend Micro Housecall. I don't know if this is enough coverage or not but my thoughts are that nothing can 100% protect against those out there that are creating nasty viruses, etc. and there is one out there that nobody knows how to unencrypt so I use all 3 of the above to do what I can to protect my laptop and all that is contained on the laptop.
06-06-2015 10:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #13
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
Malwarebytes free doesn't run continuously. It only runs when you use it for a scan. It tends to get along very well with other anti malware products. I'm not sure about the paid real-time versions.

Norton has gotten a really bad rep over the years.

The Microsoft anti malware products have the problem that every virus is going to be specifically made to work around them, since so many people use the free Microsoft stuff. The various Microsoft antimalware products have gotten a lot of bad rep as well.

I don't know how good the current versions of either of the above are these days.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
06-07-2015 01:30 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
AlanE Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,496
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10 & Mirage Liberty backup
Humidifier: Built-in
CPAP Pressure: 10-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

Sex: Male
Location: Southwest Florida

Post: #14
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
(06-06-2015 07:45 PM)Mark Douglas Wrote:  I still use money 2001 in win7 in virtualbox in linux mint 17.1
I also have 7 on it's own partition for those pitas that just won't run anyway but native - or at least it is beyond me to get them to in linux
Here let me ease your pain [links removed] Linux Mint and PC Linux OS are very good.

I have ubuntu on one. I use that for streaming Netflix and Amazon. When I'm not doing that it runs Seti.



Using FlashAir W-03 SD card in machine. Access through wifi with FlashPAP or Sleep Master utilities.

I wanted to learn Binary so I enrolled in Binary 101. I seemed to have missed the first four courses. Big Grinnie
(This post was last modified: 06-07-2015 10:11 AM by AlanE.)
06-07-2015 10:10 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Mark Douglas Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 513
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Sys 1 (60) RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-Flex 760P Auto Bi-Level (Variabl
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Wisp
Humidifier: PR Sys One heated
CPAP Pressure: RiseTime 3 Fxd E-9.0 / I-11.5
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Hashimoto's thyroiditis.

Sex: Male
Location: SW Ohio

Post: #15
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
Cool!
Does it tell you if it thinks it heard something interesting?

I use my PAP machine nightly and I feel great!
Updated: Philips Respironics System One (60 Series)
RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-FlexModel 760P -
Rise Time x3 Fixed Bi-Level EPAP 9.0 IPAP 11.5 (cmH2O)
06-07-2015 10:23 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
AlanE Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,496
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10 & Mirage Liberty backup
Humidifier: Built-in
CPAP Pressure: 10-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

Sex: Male
Location: Southwest Florida

Post: #16
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
No. I have no idea. I guess that is up to the scientists to interpret. Would be cool though. As long as ET doesn't use our satellites to send a signal to coordinate anything.



Using FlashAir W-03 SD card in machine. Access through wifi with FlashPAP or Sleep Master utilities.

I wanted to learn Binary so I enrolled in Binary 101. I seemed to have missed the first four courses. Big Grinnie
(This post was last modified: 06-07-2015 12:10 PM by AlanE.)
06-07-2015 12:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #17
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
I've accepted the fact that I will get some sort of malware or virus from time to time, even when I'm very careful. It will likely happen regardless of what AV I'm running so I choose to use MSE since it's less burdensome on the system.

As for a safety net, I choose to create daily drive images and keep a two-month archive of them. It's automatic and occurs at first boot, while I'm having coffee and working the daily crossword puzzle. That relieves me of trying to isolate and clean some obscure gremlin, if/when I get such, from my system (that used to be fun but not so much anymore). The reason I do this is that I accept that some gremlins can't be entirely cleaned from a system and if/when my system gets compromised (has never happened yet) I will choose to deploy one of my previous time images and get back a clean system with less effort.

It's good practice to keep sensitive material off of your computer, especially if you are young and upward mobile. That's a key element of proper risk management. Although most banks and credit agencies protect you from fraud and identity theft, if you are young and upward mobile (and need a clean credit score) you can suffer some inconvenience that isn't monetary, which may cause you a great deal of frustration when trying to get it corrected. Us older dudes could care less about credit scores and such, so I don't worry about that. However, on the whole, I'd rather be young and at risk. Big Grin
06-07-2015 01:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
GWild Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 88
Joined: May 2014

Machine: RemStar Sys1 560P
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Ultra Mirage
Humidifier: Sys1
CPAP Pressure: 8 - 20 auto / 8.9 avg
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Undisclosed
Location:

Post: #18
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
I think there is a difference between no longer supporting and abandoning a product. If you sold a software tool 20 years ago, would you want to support it today? It would be like renovating an antique, at least in computer terms.

This isn't only Microsoft, either, and reputable software company does the same; some do worse and don't provide users any way out.

But I agree -- software companies tend to be rather uncaring for how they treat customers. I'm really PO'd with Google right now for all the changes they are making. Profiles, new maps that are simply wrong, whacking bookmark folders, tracking my phone without my permission, etc.
06-07-2015 01:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
AlanE Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,496
Joined: Mar 2015

Machine: ResMed AirSense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10 & Mirage Liberty backup
Humidifier: Built-in
CPAP Pressure: 10-14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

Sex: Male
Location: Southwest Florida

Post: #19
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
It's all about the money. Specifically in Google's case. Which is not surprising since they are a corporation. It's sad when they take a decent product like Nest, the 'smart' thermostat, and turned it into "How can we monitor your activity to make money" product. They're not the only ones. Most 'smart' products have an evil side.



Using FlashAir W-03 SD card in machine. Access through wifi with FlashPAP or Sleep Master utilities.

I wanted to learn Binary so I enrolled in Binary 101. I seemed to have missed the first four courses. Big Grinnie
06-07-2015 02:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Mark Douglas Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 513
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Sys 1 (60) RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-Flex 760P Auto Bi-Level (Variabl
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Wisp
Humidifier: PR Sys One heated
CPAP Pressure: RiseTime 3 Fxd E-9.0 / I-11.5
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Hashimoto's thyroiditis.

Sex: Male
Location: SW Ohio

Post: #20
RE: Can I run both Norton IS and Malwarebytes?
I was interested in the Nest t-stat until google bought it. Adds on my t-stat display. No thank you?

I use my PAP machine nightly and I feel great!
Updated: Philips Respironics System One (60 Series)
RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-FlexModel 760P -
Rise Time x3 Fixed Bi-Level EPAP 9.0 IPAP 11.5 (cmH2O)
06-08-2015 10:19 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  malwarebytes -- remind me justMongo 10 232 11-28-2016 12:21 PM
Last Post: sleepyguy99

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)