Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Can I use the existing modem with a new machine?
#1
Can I use the existing modem with a new machine?
Hello 

Just a quick question for those in the know;

I have a Resmed Airsense 10 For Her here in Australia with a modem that sends data to my Sleep Doctor and Sleep team (here in Oz).

If I buy/import a backup machine (same or similar, let's say Vauto) is there a way I can still send the data via modem? A machine imported from the US will not have an Australian compatible modem/SIM card.

Can I simply move/swap the modem to the new machine?

Or swap out the internal hardware from the new machine to old one and connect up the modem?

Or do both the  modem and the machine have their own serial/model number making this not feasible?

If not, it's no big deal: if I go this route I will inform the Sleep team what is happening, anyway.

(I have read on the forum that the new machine will need its own SD card so that part at least I do understand)
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
RE: Can I use the existing modem with a new machine?
Based off my limited nosing around inside the A10 series, there are 2 chips.  The main chip is a STM32 and the STM8 on blower unit.  The  STM32 holds the main firmware and the "personality" of the device, CPAP, Autoset, VAuto, ASV, S/ST, ST-A, and iVAPS.  The STM8 appears to maintain the serial number and run hours.  I never really looked at the modem, except to disconnect it.  Based on its visual appearance, it would be a standard 3rd party produced item.  I don't envision a CPAP manufacturer more-or-less reinventing the wheel on an item that isn't industry specific.  I didn't bother looking at the method was used to attach this daughter card to the motherboard.  I can show you where it connects.

[Image: attachment.php?aid=28251]


Good luck!


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
Crimson Nape
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com
___________________________________
Useful Links -or- When All Else Fails:
OSCAR Chart Organization
Attaching Images and Files on Apnea Board
Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead and OSCAR
Apnea Helpful Tips

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
RE: Can I use the existing modem with a new machine?
I have not heard of anyone soldering a different modem into a machine. Most of us prefer not to have our data sent that way. I think you are up against two problems. Not only is the modem not compatible with the AU phone system, but the data is actually distributed through the Resmed servers back to your doctor, and this means the transmission must include the machine ID. I think it would be much easier and safer to occasionally send a copy of the SD card.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

____________________________________________
Download OSCAR Software
Soft Cervical Collar
Optimizing Therapy
Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
RE: Can I use the existing modem with a new machine?
It is likely that the physical form factor of the AU and US modems are the same with the only difference being the modem chipset.

If this is true, you might be able to simply swap the cards and reconnect to the motherboard. The program that combines the serial number and formats the data is likely to be the same. You might call one of the vendors who exports and repairs machines and ask if this is true. I would ask the question in the form of, "can you replace the US modem card with an AU modem card and how much will it cost?"
"The object in life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane." -- Marcus Aurelius
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#5
RE: Can I use the existing modem with a new machine?
Thanks Sleeprider

Well I certainly don't to subject my (lack of) soldering skills to the poor machine.

I thought if it was a quick swap over, it might be worth it.

But as you say for compliance it will simply be easier to bring the sleep clinic a copy of my SD card.

@srlevine1

Yes, I will ask them before I purchase if it is an easy swap but it may just complicate things.

Thanks for your replies!
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
RE: Can I use the existing modem with a new machine?
It looks like they have the communications module boards mass produced, probably for whatever region the particular batch of xPAP's is headed to (US, CA, OZ, etc) to comply with local regulations for cellular.  Looks like the board is just plugin and a screw or two to hold it in place.  Likely the same board for all 10 series machines.

This one is for the US:
   

You can see all the internal pics here: https://fccid.io/2ACHL-AIR104G/Internal-...hs-3994756
Using a 13" MacBook Air (2017), MacOS Catalina (10.15.7), OSCAR v1.2.0
In a VM: Win10 1909 (18363.1139)

Installing OSCAR on a Mac
Organizing your OSCAR charts
Attaching images and files for the forum
OSCAR Help
OSCAR Data Interpretation
Post Reply Post Reply
#7
RE: Can I use the existing modem with a new machine?
Interesting, that CAM board is located around the side of the unit and is a complete assembly. It appears the AU unit can be simply screwed into place and plugged into the flow generator board. Good Google-foo Jeff!
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

____________________________________________
Download OSCAR Software
Soft Cervical Collar
Optimizing Therapy
Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#8
RE: Can I use the existing modem with a new machine?
Hey thanks Jeff!

That prompted me to search the boards a bit more and came across this from farnsy:

http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...em-Removal

5:12 into the video might just be what I am looking for.

Then in the myAir website I have the chance to change the machine serial number and device number.

   

Bottom right: Change Machine...

Can't guarantee this will work, but worth keeping in mind for later.

Thanks for the inspiration!
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  ResMed AirSense 10 Disassembly and Modem Removal farnsy 14 2,441 11-07-2020, 10:35 AM
Last Post: Crimson Nape
Exclaimation CPAP Machine Choices - read this before you accept a new machine SuperSleeper 158 179,052 09-06-2020, 06:22 PM
Last Post: 53lowt
  Semi-permanently disabling modem in ResMed Airsense 10 Sleep87 104 39,560 08-14-2020, 02:11 PM
Last Post: BB63
  A question on cellular modem drmaestro 12 555 05-21-2020, 01:59 PM
Last Post: Jeff8356
  Question about wireless modem in Aircurve 10 redlegs 12 654 05-19-2020, 07:59 AM
Last Post: jelive
  [CPAP] DME charges for modem part of Airsense SleepAhead 11 575 05-07-2020, 02:11 AM
Last Post: Hydrangea
  Aircurve 10 Change the modem number called Feedsack 3 768 03-26-2020, 10:18 AM
Last Post: geauxdbl


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.