Can S9-H5i control temperature and humidity independently?
SamWong2012 Offline

Members

Machine: Resmed S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Quattro
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: auto 8-13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male

Can S9-H5i control temperature and humidity independently?
During 2 hot nights in northern California last week, I had to turn down the temperature of the H5i humidifier, as a result, I had dried mouth. Can the S9-H5i unit control temperature and humidity independently? I am new to CPAP treatment, I can foresee what the summer nights will feel like. We have hot and dry weather in Northern California.
04-27-2012 12:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed

RE: Can S9-H5i control temperature and humidity independently?
I don't think so. It is the heat under the tank that makes the humidity. Do you have climateline hose? If so, switch to another hose. That might help with the heat issues.

If you had a dry mouth, then you may have been breathing through your mouth. Dry air from the CPAP would result in dry nose and throat. My throat has been so dry, it was like swallowing sandpaper.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
04-27-2012 01:28 PM
shutterbug sue Offline

Preferred Members

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Hybrid