Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Can anything be done about my Periodic Breathing?
Can anything be done about my Periodic Breathing?
I have been using a CPAP for over 3 years and have generally been happy with the results - most of my AHI are below 1.0.  I live at 7500' elevation and find that I do not need my CPAP at sea level (as proved by a sleep study).  Because I spend 5-6 months of the year at sea level (wintertime), I do not use my CPAP continuously.  Additionally, I do not use it while traveling especially if the altitude is lower than 7500'.

Generally throughout those 3 years of use I have had bouts of periodic breathing - probably more than not.  I just had a bout where my AHI was 7.55 with over 6% of the time in periodic breathing.  My own diagnosis says that it is periodic breathing rather than Cheyne-Stokes because there are attempts to breath during the apneic phase.  Here are some results from OSCAR:

How concerned should I be?

Thanks for any help.

Doug
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Can anything be done about my Periodic Breathing?
The larger pattern appears to be alternating between hyperventilation and hypoventilation, characteristic of CSR, however if there are attempts to breathe in the apneic phase, then that would be a view worth seeing. If we see increasing flow limitation (flattening of the inspiratory wave) moving towards apnea, then this is more likely positional apnea and has a relatively easy solution. http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...onal_Apnea
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier