Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Can silicone be refreshed?
Can silicone be refreshed?
I have a Quattro Air FFM that I have been using for almost two months. As time has passed the seals on the mask have gotten less effective. I have to tighten the mask more to get it to seal properly. Are there any materials that can be used to refresh the silicone seal and restore the original pliabililty or is the answer to just replace the cushion more often?

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Can silicone be refreshed?
Replace the cushion. Anything you might apply is likely to irritate your skin.
The mask cushions do lose their spring -- and a leaky mask is a pain.
Admin Note:
JustMongo passed away in August 2017
Click HERE to read his Memorial Thread

~ Rest in Peace ~
Post Reply Post Reply
Try boiling in water with Bakeing soda for ten mins that should get you a few more mths use
Post Reply Post Reply
Have you tried a mask liner
I can see pad a cheek got a mask liner for Quattro Air
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi carlquib,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
When I wash my mask, hose and humidifier chamber once a week in mild, warm, soapy water, I lightly rub my cushion, mask frame and the hose end that connects with the maskwith a soft rag and that makes them tacky so they will stay with your face better but of course, YMMV.
Hope this helps you and best of luck to you with your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
Silly question? **HOW** are you washing your mask? Please tell us in detail? What soap (if any) cold, warm, or hot water, any other chemicals or fluids used?