Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Can slight arrythmia disrupt oximeters? Seems not?
Brick 
Can slight arrythmia disrupt oximeters? Seems not?
A question that has been nagging me...

Could slight (e.g. benign) arryhthmia violate assumptions required for an oximeter (e.g. O2Ring) pulse-rate measuring algorithm to produce reliable or even consistent pulse-rate (or even SpO2) results?"

I am no expert, just a websearcher, but from the following it seems neither of these imagined issues exist in reality.

I have read that for good devices (no idea if that includes O2Ring) "Cardiac arrhythmias do not decrease accuracy of pulse oximeters so long as saturation readings are steady."

And from the end of that (1991) paper, it seems this applies not only to SpO2 but also to pulse rate. Of course that's only from one paper, not specific to the O2Ring, but to me it sounds encouraging.

Any other knowledge or opinions?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Can slight arrythmia disrupt oximeters? Seems not?
The device is measuring the O2 in the blood - not anything to do with monitoring the heart.  So no a abnormal heart beat would not be detected or would it change the reading of the oxygen in you blood.
Apnea (80-100%) 10 seconds, Hypopnea (50-80%) 10 seconds, Flow Limits (0-50%) not timed  Cervical Collar - Dealing w DME - Chart Organizing
Post Reply Post Reply
Brick 
That's right in theory (science), though in practice (engineering) it seems (as presented in the following article - that I just now came across) that various complications in the signal have to be allowed for, and one of the things oximeters rely on to to that is the pulsing of the blood.