Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Can't find a mask. Totally frustrated!
Can't find a mask. Totally frustrated!
I am a newbie with my first time post. I have been using the machine since January, and do not know what way to turn anymore. My first DME never returned my calls, so I returned all gear after 2 weeks and went to another DME. The only way they tried to fit me for a mask was to put it on me and then ask how that feels? After 7 weeks they wanted to start charging me for masks. I then returned my gear and went to a third DME. It's been over 3 weeks and they haven't let me know if they are even getting me a new machine.

My son gave me his 2011 Phillips Respironics System One, and I have been using this since I returned my Resmed S9 and PR DreamStation to the DME's. Although I have been able to keep my AHI under 5.00 I  actually feel more tired than when I was not on the Cpap machine. My biggest problem is I have not found one mask that I have had success with. I am a mouth breather so I have tried F10, F20, Quattro full face masks, as well as Wisp, Gels and about four other nasal masks. Seems I wake up around 12:00 to 1:00 AM for a bathroom break and when I turn the machine back on it does the most leakage. I only average about 4 hours of actual machine usage and the rest of the time I am laying there awake. The biggest problem is the fluttering from the silicone. Can anyone relate to this and if so, any suggestions. I am not a quitter and do not want to give up due to no DME's wanting to help.

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Can't find a mask. Totally frustrated!