Post Reply 
Changing preset to autoset
Author Message
Mski Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Jun 2015

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Unsure
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 12
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #1
Changing preset to autoset
I have a ResMed S9 Autoset machine and was not allowed to use the auto feature by my resp. therapist, so I'm trying to change it myself.

I followed the instructions on this forum's website and got into the clinician's menu. I can change the preset numbers, but can't figure out how to change the settings so the machine adjusts automatically.

Does it have anything to do with changing the MODE from CPAP to Autoset? The machine was on Autoset, but the maximum and minimum pressures are also set.

Would appreciate any assistance - thanks.
06-14-2015 02:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Mosquitobait Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 746
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Resmed AirSense 10 For Her
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Airfit P10
Humidifier: integrated, Climate line tube
CPAP Pressure: 9-12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: RLS and Bradycardia

Sex: Female
Location: Minneapolis

Post: #2
RE: Changing preset to autoset
Yes, that is exactly what you need to do. Change to Autoset and then add your maximum and minimum pressures.
06-14-2015 04:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Mark Douglas Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 513
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Sys 1 (60) RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-Flex 760P Auto Bi-Level (Variabl
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Wisp
Humidifier: PR Sys One heated
CPAP Pressure: RiseTime 3 Fxd E-9.0 / I-11.5
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Hashimoto's thyroiditis.

Sex: Male
Location: SW Ohio

Post: #3
RE: Changing preset to autoset
You are on the right track. Please post your set-points and someone who knows your machine will be along soon.
Do you have the results of your sleep study handy?

I use my PAP machine nightly and I feel great!
Updated: Philips Respironics System One (60 Series)
RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-FlexModel 760P -
Rise Time x3 Fixed Bi-Level EPAP 9.0 IPAP 11.5 (cmH2O)
06-14-2015 04:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Mski Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Jun 2015

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Unsure
Humidifier: Unsure
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 12
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location:

Post: #4
RE: Changing preset to autoset
The machine is set from 8 - 12. I don't have my results handy, but I was told that this range was working well for me. Still, I bought an autoset so I could benefit from the ongoing pressure adjustments rather than be limited to the preset limits.

Despite the previous post I'm still not clear what to do.



(06-14-2015 04:30 PM)Mark Douglas Wrote:  You are on the right track. Please post your set-points and someone who knows your machine will be along soon.
Do you have the results of your sleep study handy?
06-14-2015 04:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Mark Douglas Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 513
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Sys 1 (60) RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-Flex 760P Auto Bi-Level (Variabl
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Wisp
Humidifier: PR Sys One heated
CPAP Pressure: RiseTime 3 Fxd E-9.0 / I-11.5
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Hashimoto's thyroiditis.

Sex: Male
Location: SW Ohio

Post: #5
RE: Changing preset to autoset
I applaud your getting an autoset. You can always dumb it down but hard to smarten up a straight cpap.
I suggest you get your sleep study.
People here surprise me daily with depth of knowledge.
I cannot overemphasize the benefits of using theSleepyHead software. Like lighting a candle in the dark Smile

I use my PAP machine nightly and I feel great!
Updated: Philips Respironics System One (60 Series)
RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-FlexModel 760P -
Rise Time x3 Fixed Bi-Level EPAP 9.0 IPAP 11.5 (cmH2O)
06-14-2015 04:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Mark Douglas Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 513
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Sys 1 (60) RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-Flex 760P Auto Bi-Level (Variabl
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Wisp
Humidifier: PR Sys One heated
CPAP Pressure: RiseTime 3 Fxd E-9.0 / I-11.5
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Hashimoto's thyroiditis.

Sex: Male
Location: SW Ohio

Post: #6
RE: Changing preset to autoset
autoset I have a ResMed S9
Autoset machine and
was not allowed to use
the auto feature by my
resp. therapist,


Did the RT tell you why? There could be a good reason so I hear.

I use my PAP machine nightly and I feel great!
Updated: Philips Respironics System One (60 Series)
RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-FlexModel 760P -
Rise Time x3 Fixed Bi-Level EPAP 9.0 IPAP 11.5 (cmH2O)
06-14-2015 04:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
SleepyWabbit Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 40
Joined: Jun 2015

Machine: DS560S (PRS1 REMStar Auto)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: DS6H
CPAP Pressure: 12cm
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: descensus in cuniculi cavum

Post: #7
RE: Changing preset to autoset
I'm still new here, so YMMV, but it sounds to me like you are already on auto mode. 8-12 is the current range the machine will use. 8 for the low pressure and up to 12 if the machine detects that you need it. If I understand correctly, if CPAP mode would just be one continuous pressure.

As I am new and don't even have my machine yet, hopefully someone more knowledgeable can confirm.
06-14-2015 06:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Mark Douglas Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 513
Joined: Apr 2015

Machine: Sys 1 (60) RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-Flex 760P Auto Bi-Level (Variabl
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Wisp
Humidifier: PR Sys One heated
CPAP Pressure: RiseTime 3 Fxd E-9.0 / I-11.5
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Hashimoto's thyroiditis.

Sex: Male
Location: SW Ohio

Post: #8
RE: Changing preset to autoset
(06-14-2015 06:55 PM)SleepyWabbit Wrote:  I'm still new here, so YMMV, but it sounds to me like you are already on auto mode. 8-12 is the current range the machine will use. 8 for the low pressure and up to 12 if the machine detects that you need it. If I understand correctly, if CPAP mode would just be one continuous pressure.

As I am new and don't even have my machine yet, hopefully someone more knowledgeable can confirm.

By golly how did we miss that?Dont-know

So Mski why you want to change the settings whatever they are?

I use my PAP machine nightly and I feel great!
Updated: Philips Respironics System One (60 Series)
RemStar BiPAP Auto with Bi-FlexModel 760P -
Rise Time x3 Fixed Bi-Level EPAP 9.0 IPAP 11.5 (cmH2O)
06-14-2015 07:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
SleepyWabbit Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 40
Joined: Jun 2015

Machine: DS560S (PRS1 REMStar Auto)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: DS6H
CPAP Pressure: 12cm
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: descensus in cuniculi cavum

Post: #9
RE: Changing preset to autoset
(06-14-2015 07:45 PM)Mark Douglas Wrote:  By golly how did we miss that?Dont-know

New eyes? Big Grin

Mski, if you are new to therapy, I would go with the settings your therapist originally set. Your therapist set them for a reason. It sounds like you are already on auto, so let the system do its work.

If you have already been on the settings for a while and they don't seem to be working, talk with your therapist and let them know why the settings are not working and back it up with examples. You know your body and are the person sleeping in it each night, hopefully. SHa_biggrin5

If you are set on making changes, check your data through sleepyhead or other software before making any changes and use that data to make educated changes. Don't just change it because you can.
Look at your data, compare it to your sleep study and write down the changes you want to make. Bring those changes back here and run them by the more knowledgeable people who have been doing this for a while before making any changes.
06-14-2015 08:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,436
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #10
RE: Changing preset to autoset
Hi Mski,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hang in there for more responses to your post and much success to you as you continue your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
06-14-2015 08:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Which disturbs sleep most? High Pressure or Changing Pressure Rcgop 7 1,261 11-10-2016 07:37 PM
Last Post: Sleep2Snore
Question CHANGING MACHINES - SD CARD srlevine1 3 232 10-31-2016 07:11 PM
Last Post: srlevine1
  Fisher Paykel HC201 - changing pressure? Debi 1 207 09-23-2016 07:08 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  6 Weeks in and things are changing. Tassie tone 5 509 09-08-2016 07:39 PM
Last Post: Maskup Sleepwell
  Changing Medicare Supplier when Moving jrh0 4 350 09-03-2016 01:53 AM
Last Post: srlevine1
  [Equipment] Changing setting on Remstar Auto A-Flex? Safe to do? pwynnnorman 5 501 07-23-2016 06:50 AM
Last Post: pwynnnorman
  Advice on changing settings shokk 2 559 07-19-2016 06:06 AM
Last Post: shokk

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)