Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Changing time zones on a Resmed 10 Elite?
#1
Changing time zones on a Resmed 10 Elite?
All my reporting on Sleepyhead and the RESMED site are all messed up with sleep sesions being broken up due to the time zone I am now in.

Origionally I was set up in New Zealand but just moved to China for the next couple of months.

Looking at the Clinicians menu I can see the time can be changed however I see in the Clinicians notes that they warn of loosing data if you change the units time. 
What to do, I dont want to loose the last years data from the machine or potentially stuff up the SD cards data set. 

How do people normally account for changing time zones it must be a very very frequent thing for people using CPAP PAP therapies.
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
RE: Changing time zones on a Resmed 10 Elite?
All the following are my opinions and nothing else:

Unless some entity were to require machine data to match Sleepyhead data, I'd leave date, time, and time zone settings as is. Clock setting fights are one battle I choose to avoid. As you say, you risk stored data loss. I'm sure there's ways to change the settings safely, but I've forgot these currently. I'd set mine to whatever would be accurate most of the time and let it be. I don't do daylight saving time edits either. Since my ASV doesn't pull double duty as an alarm clock, clock setting accuracy for me isn't an issue.

Coffee
Dave

I'm not a doctor in real or fictional life. My posts include opinions based upon user experience regarding CPAP therapy and should not be considered medically professional direction or advice. Even a 1,000 mile trip requires a good first step. My recommended first steps include getting good walking shoes, 1 great cup of coffee, and a good GPS.

Wiki Info for Beginners
Organize Charts
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
RE: Changing time zones on a Resmed 10 Elite?
You can change the time zone easily when heading east just put the clock forward as appropriate. The problem comes going backwards or crossing the date line where is may take several days of small backward changes of the clock or a machine reset or non use to get back in sync.


For a short period I would leave the clock alone if it’s months I would change the clock but consider how you approach the backward movement on return.
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
RE: Changing time zones on a Resmed 10 Elite?
There is never any good reason to change times away from your home QTH.

No, not ever.

Use your machine when you sleep. It doesn't care what the time is. It is a CPAP, not a chronograph, not an alarm clock. If you need to know what time it is, look at your wrist watch.
There.  I said it.

OMMOHY
Contrarian in Residence  
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#5
RE: Changing time zones on a Resmed 10 Elite?
(02-09-2019, 05:50 AM)OMyMyOHellYes Wrote: There is never any good reason to change times away from your home QTH.

No, not ever.

Use your machine when you sleep. It doesn't care what the time is. It is a CPAP, not a chronograph, not an alarm clock. If you need to know what time it is, look at your wrist watch.

Who uses their CPAP as an alarm clock? Really don't see the meaning in your reply. Perhaps you didn't read my post properly.

My concern is that the data being reported is scrambled due to it being broken up into separate day reporting even though its just one sleep session which gives very unreliable and untrue AHI figures making reporting confusing at best.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
RE: Changing time zones on a Resmed 10 Elite?
OK five hours is a lot, and you are away for several months, so it's not unreasonable.

NZDT is 5 hours ahead of China Standard Time, so you need to wait until the clock in your CPAP is past 17:00 at least. and you haven't used the machine in those past five hours. If you try to roll back past machine noon on any day with data recorded, it will tell you to wipe the data. Also you must do it before the machine's midnight, because you don't want to back up a whole day. - I made that mistake on a trip three time zones west.
Upon your return to NZ, you simply have to wait until China (machine) noon, and roll forward the five hours.

I think that will do it.
Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies. Monitors are also Advisory Members, just with Extra Work assigned.

Membership in the Advisory Members group does not imply medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.
Post Reply Post Reply
#7
RE: Changing time zones on a Resmed 10 Elite?
(02-09-2019, 07:56 AM)pholynyk Wrote: OK five hours is a lot, and you are away for several months, so it's not unreasonable.

NZDT is 5 hours ahead of China Standard Time, so you need to wait until the clock in your CPAP is past 17:00 at least. and you haven't used the machine in those past five hours. If you try to roll back past machine noon on any day with data recorded, it will tell you to wipe the data. Also you must do it before the machine's midnight, because you don't want to back up a whole day. - I made that mistake on a trip three time zones west.
Upon your return to NZ, you simply have to wait until China (machine) noon, and roll forward the five hours.

I think that will do it.

Cheers thanks for that.
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  
#8
RE: Changing time zones on a Resmed 10 Elite?
(02-09-2019, 06:31 AM)ghce Wrote: My concern is that the data being reported is scrambled due to it being broken up into separate day reporting even though its just one sleep session which gives very unreliable and untrue AHI figures making reporting confusing at best.

Simple.  Don't look at data.  There.  That was easy.
There.  I said it.

OMMOHY
Contrarian in Residence  
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
RE: Changing time zones on a Resmed 10 Elite?
(02-09-2019, 10:38 AM)OMyMyOHellYes Wrote: Simple.  Don't look at data.  There.  That was easy.

Those of us who can get away with that are lucky. It is pleasant not to be a slave to the SD card. Quite often I also ignore the machine's display.

(Thrown overboard: Humidifier, check ... heater, check ... heated hose, check ... SD card, check ... computer software, check ... DME, check ... sleepydoc, check ... let's see, what's next?)
Post Reply Post Reply
#10
RE: Changing time zones on a Resmed 10 Elite?
I do big timezone changes every couple of weeks, the data doesn't get scrambled, it sometimes appears to double count but actually doesn't - see attached. I leave well alone

Rob
Post Reply Post Reply



Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Time for a new CPAP machine? Bubba45 4 124 7 hours ago
Last Post: Sleepster
  Setting time and date on Resmed Airsense 10 cmadon 27 14,379 07-07-2019, 01:14 PM
Last Post: sheepless
  Trying CPAP one last time... AHI looks really bad gsilver 68 2,126 07-06-2019, 08:31 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Equipment] TIME/DATE - ResMed AirSense AutoSet 10 srlevine1 12 1,590 07-04-2019, 11:10 PM
Last Post: srlevine1
  First time seeing my stats with Oscar rugburner 16 550 06-09-2019, 11:11 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Hard time falling asleep with mask on. Paris66 9 376 05-08-2019, 02:07 AM
Last Post: ramphil2019
  Long time user, first time posting, Like my charts? Matgyver 5 288 05-03-2019, 12:29 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.