Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Cheyne Stokes Breathing Event
Cheyne Stokes Breathing Event
Hi I'm a Forum newbie but have been using CPAP/APAP for many years.  I was diagnosed with moderate OSA (33 events per hour) back in 2005 when living in the UK. I am 64 years old but pretty fit for my age (regular cyclist with a FitBit cardiac fitness score in the excellent category). It was established early on in my treatment that I needed APAP as my pressure needs were very variable.  When I moved to Spain over 12 years ago the local health services over here could not provide nor support APAP machines.  I tried one of their cheap fixed pressure machines but it did not work for me.  The NHS in the UK allowed me to keep the APAP (ResMed S8 autoset) they had given me but eventually I had to replace it with an ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset.  This has worked well and I average an AHI of around 3 (with some variation).

A few nights ago I had a weird dream where I ended up at high altitude where there was not enough oxygen.  Eventually I woke up still feeling oxygen deprived but quickly recovered.  Later I looked at the machine data in SleepyHead (looks almost identical to OSCAR) and found that I had had a 26 minute Cheyne Stokes Breathing event with 11 OA, 1 CA and 1 Hypopnea.  My FitBit usually gives me information on SpO2 levels but for some reason it says it was unable to record data that night.  Further digging reveals that it did record data some during the night but not during the Cheynes Stokes event (I'm wondering whether it didn't record the data because it didn't believe it).

As I have no cardiac condition I am wondering if this Cheyne Stokes breathing event is significant or is it just one of those things that happen sometimes?