Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[CPAP] Whats the secret?
Whats the secret?
Im a newbie in the CPAP world. Just started 3 weeks ago. I’ve been battling Long Covid for 8 months, and after a battery of tests it was determined that I have Hypoxia and other sleep related problems. I found my way to a nose mask + CPAP machine and haven’t been able to get used to it.
I go to sleep every night with my nose mask on (with humidifier at 3) but seem to wake up after about 4 hours of use, max. The rest of the night I sleep without it.
I would really like to know the secret to getting through the whole night wearing it.
Last night when I woke up after 4 hours I took note of how I felt and why I needed to take it off.
1. My nose was blocked
2. I felt like I was suffocating
3. My ears were ringing from the noise of the air+machine
4. I “needed a break” from the noise and discomfort

It was a rough night’s sleep. The problem is with Long Covid “a rough nights sleep” can be catastrophic for my health the next day(s).
I need to try to make CPAP work with me and get over this initial hump.
If anyone has any tricks or tips I would be internally grateful.
Thanks,
Fred Thanks
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Whats the secret?
I don't know of any "secret", except perseverance.  Are you using any software to gauge how your therapy is going?  Obviously, you are not comfortable.  If you are using software, you can post a screenshot here of your nights sleep.  Maybe there's something we can see from that.

Your pressure may be too high or too low.  Also, there a setting for Exhale Pressure Relief (I think it's called Soft Pap) on the Prisma Cpap.  Use it if you can.  That would help with breathing out against the pressure.

Lower the humidity setting a little and use a nasal decongestant.