Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Chin Strap or Not
Chin Strap or Not
I have been using a chin strap for about 4 months and a few nights ago, I wanted to try and see if I still needed it or if I could do without it (summer will be here soon and if I can get away without it I want to). At any rate, on the nights I have not been using the chin strap, my leaks are lower, my pressure, both IPAP and EPAP, are lower. Not sure why but I will definitely take it!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Chin Strap or Not
Me50, you are probably getting those results because the chinstrap is helping you keep your mouth shut wile sleeping. If you can tolerate it, that's great. I have a Ruby but it's a bit hot at night. I even need a cool pillow as I'm one of those that keep flipping the pillow for the cool side. I did resort to (here it comes and I know it's not safe) medical tape. I've used regular wide office tape , too but it pulled the hair off my face in one scream and left a red wide X on my face for a week.
Post Reply Post Reply
Hi me50,
If you can get away without using a chinstrap, that's GREAT; some nights I can, but sometimes I think I need one, but I haven't found one that I can wear well, so I manage to do without it.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply