Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Chin strap, ear lobe issues, confused
Chin strap, ear lobe issues, confused
Hello,

Now here's where I'm confused. Ive been using a mirage fx for 4 years. Issues with my DME I've had to change, but in those 4 years when Id get a new mask, about 6-8 months, I would compare with my current one and put straps in the same spots. The last mask I used for over a year without issue. 4 years no problems.
New DME gives me a quick prescription temporarily so I can get a new mask. On the new one the straps ride up, bend my ears back, and hurt. I got for the new sleep study and they gave me a spare mask, exact same thing, rides up. 
So I take the straps from my old trusty and put it on the new mask. No luck, straps ride up. so i figure its the masks shape guiding it in that direction, I dunno.
so i put my old strap back on old mask and go back to that. Surprise, strap rides up. I seem to have lost the perfect setting.
Now trying to read up I see a lot of suggestions for padding the strap, buying covers, etc. but I was fine for 4.5 years + with the current setup and now I have issues.
Any ideas? All I can remember is the top straps were fairly loose as I didnt see any performance change whether they were loose or tight. Maybe needing bottom ones tighter so no need to ride up? But then its pushing on my nose more than I remember. 
I cant seem to win.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Chin strap, ear lobe issues, confused
All of that and you couldn't perhaps mention which mask you're using?
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier